Moving forward

I’m working on continuing good time management. I’ve finished up a knitting project I meant to do for my roommate a little over a year ago, I’m keeping up with maintenance chores at home, I’m working on clearing out more clutter, and keeping up with other craft projects that need to get finished up.

My thought on working right now and I have the full support and blessing from both my husband and my boyfriend is that I’ll keep searching for work, but I’ve also been told by family members (several of whom have autistic children) that they believe me to be as well. Keeping that in consideration, I’m going to see if I can get a formal evaluation. At a bare minimum, I have severe ADHD, but I can believe my family members’ concern, considering I’ve met people at work who didn’t know me who worked with autistic kids and said that they thought I am. If I can get that formal label, quite honestly, I’m looking at trying for early disability. I try and try, and I don’t know how much longer I can continue in this rat race known as looking for work. I’ll do it if I have to, but I’d be lying if I said I didn’t want to just be a housewife at this point.

For now, I’ll keep looking, but not willingly. In a lot of ways, it was more depressing having lost the job after four weeks than not finding a job in two years. It didn’t help that Andrew’s mom through him called me lazy; said I was using my health issues as an excuse for not finding work (I am forbidden under orders from my ENT doctor to ever do call center work again, I am also asthmatic so close-in environments with no cool air and/or air circulation cause problems); that my work ethic is poor (those of you that know me either online or in person know that although at home I’m lazy but at work I bust my ass and then some); and that my asthma is caused by my animals so I need to get rid of them. My asthma is not triggered by my animals unless I let the pet hair get out of control, air pollution; pollen; and mold are more a problem than the animals. I’m also extremely sensitive to temperature extremes. The firing was planned and I have no doubt about that, but I had needed to use my inhaler at work, I’d needed to use it again so at that point I knew I was better off going home. His mom seems to think that caused them to fire me, because she thinks I was looking for excuses to go home. Andrew was trying to explain things to her, but she kept harping on the situation and badmouthing me to a point where he got very pissed off and hung up on her because she wouldn’t listen. I don’t advocate such things usually, but in this circumstance I don’t blame him. Better that than me telling her off.

Log in to write a note