Sometimes bad is bad

I mean, cool is a rule, but…

I have a friend facing significant issues in their marriage. The abuse is unquestionable, but since it is almost exclusively emotional, there is limited legal recourse, and what little that is available would only add fuel to the fire.

My situation is not even fractionally as bad. I am unhappy, sure. I am unsatisfied, definitely. I experience a fair amount of gaslighting and unpleasant commentary. I don’t have what I want in life, from life. So…

Mick Jagger once you can’t always get what you want. What makes me think I should get what I want?

Therapy has truly opened my eyes to the fact that  I have sabotaged most of my life. I don’t deserve positive experiences, I don’t deserve love.

I’ve Been married now for over 20 years. Do I even want to “fix”  things?  Maybe I don’t.

Do I have a right to look at my life and be dissatisfied?  I’ve been blessed with so much.

Log in to write a note
September 19, 2023

I agree with Mick Jagger. Hard one for me in this life. Life always seems to give us exactly what we need whether we like it or not. Many times I hated what I was given. But as i look back I learned many valuable lessons that made me a better person.

You do deserve love.  We all do. Most importantly we deserve to love ourselves.

September 19, 2023

@thespiritwithinme When I look around at the mess I’ve created, can I love myself here?  And can I feel/be loved here?

September 22, 2023

@laynemeyer2 not sure if you can be loved there….but I do know you can forgive yourself and love you