08/20/2009

That’s right – feeling musical tonight. I watched Enchanted earlier tonight. The music from that movie always makes me want to sing so I’ve been singing to my heart’s content tonight as there’s no one here to be bothered by it.  I really liked Ever After by Carrie Underwood.  It’s definitely a fun song.  I’m definitely in a singing mood tonight and it’s fun. 

Well, my glasses might be here tomorrow – more likely they’ll be here Saturday or Monday. In any case, I wouldn’t be able to get them tomorrow as I’m going from work to Illinois.   Actually I’m meeting my dad at Best Buy first so we can drive down together.  No sense taking two cars if we don’t have to.  For awhile it looked like my dad might not make it home tonight due to mechanical troubles with his plane. But last I heard from him about 7:40, his plane was boarding. That means he’ll be home sometime around 9:30 if his plane didn’t spend too long on the tarmac before taking off.  He and I were texting back and forth. I discovered an app in the Apple App store that I could use on my iPod touch to text message 🙂 So I can text him over our wifi connection for free and for him it shows up as a regular text message (and he has unlimited texts I believe – he and my brother were texting back and forth while he was home). And that brings me to my next topic – Jason and Stephen left bright and early this morning – or maybe not so bright as they left sometime before 3am. 

The other bit of news around here is the weather. With Jason gone, I can finally turn the air off. So as soon as it quit raining this afternoon, I turned the air off.  Good timing as well, since we’re going to have another very cool day tomorrow – high of just 66 tomorrow.  Very very cool for August.  But that’s really been the tale of our summer. We’ve had two short stretches of actual summer weather, but for the most part it’s been cool and mostly dry.  We certainly haven’t had much severe weather to speak of, or even any good thunderstorms. So with the air off, I’m opening my window and my new comforter will get its first work out, so to speak. 

I had the opportunity to work some overtime tonight but I really needed to just come home and enjoy the time alone.  It was time I really needed so I knew working overtime wouldn’t be a good combination. Plus it was a long morning/early afternoon. By the time 2:30 rolled around, I’d been clock watching for several hours already.  By comparison when I worked overtime on Tuesday, the whole day went fast, even though it was a 10 hour day. It was interesting too that it felt shorter and less tiring than when I simply worked from 8-4:30.

I was doing the move out math (as I call it) again last night. The numbers aren’t pretty.  I’ll spare you the actual numberes, but I either need to make 25% more or have my car payment go away.  But I need my car so I either need that 25% increase in salary or I have to wait til Jan of 2011 when my car is 100% paid off.  It’s not really all that far away – I have to make payments the rest of this year plus all of next. December 2010 will be my last payment on my car. At that point, it’ll fully belong to me (and my dad technically as his name’s on the title as well).

I’m still working on patience.  I know it’s not going to be a quick process – I wish it were but nothing worth doing is going to happen overnight.  
 

"Life is measured not by the number of breaths we take, but by the moments that take our breath away."

free online journal

Log in to write a note
August 21, 2009

it’s amazing how convenient texting is. I never understood it until I finally got my wife and myself texting plans. We use it a ton now, it’s probably getting more use than actual calling.