08/22/2009

I was going to write more about our Illinois visit yesterday but I’m not really sure what there is to say.  My grandfather’s memory is going, and it seems to be going faster and faster.   Among other things, he’s forgotten that I’m the oldest of me and my brothers.  Many times he asked the same question two and three times in the span of 20 or 30 minutes.  He asked if Stephen still had the same girlfriend he’d met back in March, and then 20 minutes later he asked if Stephen had a girlfriend.  I’m starting to truly wonder how long it’ll be before he’s in a nursing home. 

This morning was the primary activity.  Sister S. (our primary president) managed yesterday to roll her ankle and in the process badly sprain it and tear several ligaments.  As a result, she’s in an air cast and is on crutches for several weeks.  It’ll be quite some time before she’s completely healed once more.  So she spent most of the activity in a chair – not following doctor’s orders.  If she’d been following doctor’s orders, she wouldn’t have been there at all. 

I’m still working on patience.  I know there are benefits to it and I’m starting to see how much I need to learn patience. And I realize that a lot of my dissatisfaction with life right now is because I have little patience.  I know that if I were ready for other things in my life and I needed to do something there, the Lord would be prodding me. But I’m not feeling any prodding right now.  And if those things I want aren’t in my life then I’m not ready for them.  So that means I need to do what I have to do to become ready for them.  So if I haven’t yet met the man I’ll one day marry, then logically, I’m not ready to meet him yet.    So if I trust Heavenly Father knows what’s best for me, then He knows that it’s not best for me to meet the man I’ll marry yet.  I have to trust in Him.

 

"Life is measured not by the number of breaths we take, but by the moments that take our breath away."

 

free online journal

Log in to write a note
August 22, 2009

Either you’re not ready or he’s not ready. Either way, as long as you’re doing your part, it should all work out fine. Doctors are largely fools. I think going to the event did more for her than following the doctor’s orders would.