A little surprised

 

I have to admit I’ve been a little surprised at how well law school has gone thus far.  I’d expected a few bumps in the road, but truly there haven’t been any.  There have been a few apartment bumps (first electric bill was $50 – and that was for having the a/c set at 77 for a week prior to actually living there and second was my heat not working properly though it works great now), but no academic bumps.  No true medication bumps either.  I’ve not had any need to pull anything even remotely resembling an all-nighter.  I know my professors started out easy on us and have ramped up in recent weeks, but even that really hasn’t fazed me.  I’m most definitely very busy right now, but it’s nothing I can’t handle. My torts and crim law midterms went very well. My Civ Pro midterm didn’t go anywhere near as bad as I thought it would, considering the difficulty of the class and having not studied the prof’s book yet.  Contracts is difficult, but I’m holding my head above water at this point.  Even writing and research have gone well, all things considered.  And when I was the guinea pig in both contracts and crim law on the same day, and crim law again the following day, I got through it. That first day after crim law, I went up to the prof to ask a few questions and he remarked that I’d done well.   And somehow amongst classmates I talk to regularly, I’ve begun to gain the reputation of being one of the smarter ones in the class. I’ve always been smart, but more within the upper third of the class, rather than the upper upper echelon of the class.

It all seems to be confirmation that my decision to attend law school was a good one and that’s comforting.

 

 

 

"Life is measured not by the number of breaths we take, but by the moments that take our breath away."

free online journal

 

Please go to Refresh Everything and vote for FictionAlley’s Pepsi Refresh Idea. You can vote once a day for the month of November. On December 1st, the finalists will be announced.

 

Log in to write a note