And here I thought people were smart

 

I can only shake my head over the election results, especially in Wisconsin.  I honestly thought Wisconsinites were smarter than that.  Part of campaigning is telling people what you’d do if elected. How else can people know what they’re getting with you?  And yet, Wisconsin elected to the US Senate a man who refused to answer that question time and again during the campaign.  I just don’t get the Tea Party.  While I don’t like their policy positions, I can understand the Republican Party in general. In addition to not liking where Democrats stand, they generally have other ideas instead.  But this election was full of complaining about current situation and light on new (or even different) ideas on how to solve the underlying problems.  I’ve always felt if you don’t like the prevailing idea, that’s fine, but don’t just complain about it. Suggest a different idea to solve the problem. Complaining about the problem, or backtracking on the other idea without actually doing anything about the problem doesn’t solve anything.  And just watch – things aren’t going to get any better (since we’re about to have gridlock, and that’s certainly not going to solve any problems), and though that’s going to be the fault of Republicans, Obama’s going to take the rap for it.  Never mind that he kept us from another Depression.  Never mind that Republicans are the ones who got us into the mess in the first place.  Never mind that no big problem gets solved quickly.  And to think I actually had faith in the American electorate. My mistake.

On a different note, it was terrific to go home last night.  We actually got out of my last class about 15 minutes early, which allowed me to get a nice start. I got gas and a snack and drink at the 7-11 on my way out of town.  The drive was pretty easy as well up to Beloit.  I was actually 30 minutes early for my appointment, so I sat in my car for about 20 minutes, continuing to listen to Indulgence in Death by J.D. Robb (another winner for her, by the way!). The appointment overall went well. We are tweaking with my medication again.  I’m on 60mg of Vyvanse with no headaches (woo hoo there) and now I’m on 100 mg of sertaline (generic Zoloft). I had been on 50 mg of Zoloft before.  We’ll see how it goes. My next appointment is December  1st at 11:30 am (regular classes are over by then). However, my doc did write me a scrip for Vyvanse for both November and December (just in case snow keeps me from keeping the Dec appointment.) She also let me know that if I have to cancel for weather, there’s no charge – even if I cancel with less than 24 hours notice. So that’s good news. Since there’s so many regulations with Vyvanse (it’s a schedule 2 drug…grr!), I had her use today’s date, since I didn’t want to take the time last night to stop at a pharmacy.

The drive from Beloit back to my parents was another easy drive. It’s only about 50 minutes.  I stopped first though and voted at the library. There wasn’t a line, which was nice. Four years (or maybe it was six years) ago, there was only one polling place for the town and the line was rather nasty, even when I went in the middle of the day.  But now things are better with two polling places.  Plus, I got there about 6pm. So it took all of about five minutes, and then I headed to my parents’.  When I got there, DirecTv was still there. My parents are changing their package and set up with them.  With the overhaul of my old room (and I did get some pictures, so I’ll post them in the next few weeks – I had to use an old film camera!), my parents have put a tv in there along with a DVR (and I think a dvd player might be going in there too).  With the new DVR, my parents decided to go with the plan that allows someone to record something on one DVR, but be able to watch it on any DVR in the house.  Apparently someone at DirecTv screwed up the work order though so it didn’t get done last night and my dad was going to spend  some time on the phone with them today, chewing them out and making sure one of the two technicians that had already been to the house would be the one to go back, since they both already knew exactly what was needed (otherwise, someone new would need to spend the same hour the other two did figuring out what was needed).  When I pulled up, the front door was open, but the storm door was shut and through it my mom saw me pull up.  My visit was supposed to be a surprise to her, but apparently my dad spilled the beans earlier in the day.  My mom made me a grilled cheese, which was nice. I played with the dogs, then had dinner, followed by finishing assignment 4 for basic legal research while my dad flipped between MSNBC and Fixed (oops, Fox) News.  It was depressing to see the American electorate (and especially the Wisconsin electorate) get snowed by the  Tea Party.  Good to see Christine O’Donnel in Delaware lose, as she was a fool. This morning breakfast was a poptart, but it was great to see my parents and the dogs.

My mom is coming down this next weekend. She’s going to visit my grandparents first and then finish the drive down. She’ll call me when she leaves my grandparents’.  Oh, and I brought her College of Law long-sleeved t-shirt with me :). It’s cute.  It’ll be Thanksgiving though before I see my dad again.  I’m looking at driving up after class that Tuesday. Probably won’t drive to class like I do now when I’m headed north right after class. It’s not so time intensive, especially since I won’t have my 2 o’clock class that day. I’ll still leave the law school right away, but I’ll take the bus back to my apartment and then drive north from there. So right now, things are good 🙂

 

"Life is measured not by the number of breaths we take, but by the moments that take our breath away."

free online journal

 

Please go to Refresh Everything and vote for FictionAlley’s Pepsi Refresh Idea. You can vote once a day for the month of November. On December 1st, the finalists will be announced.

Log in to write a note
November 4, 2010

I think there are a lot of reasons the Tea Party is gaining ground, though I don’t agree with all of them. I think most of the Tea Party crowd wishes we had more people in office like Ron Paul who measures every vote he makes in the House against the Constitution. I can appreciate that. It’s not Republicans or Democrats that got us into the depression we’re in, it’s politicians as a whole.

November 4, 2010

(continued) The Republicans were merely in office when the costs of over half a century of overspending, crooked bookkeeping (both government and private), and unsustainable government spending caught up with us. I don’t see that Obama or anyone else in Washington has made it any better in the long run. We’re in a depression wearing another name (there’s no definition agreed upon by economists)

November 4, 2010

(continued) I’m trying to remain optimistic here. I think perhaps the deadlock in Washington will be a good thing, maybe it will keep them from doing as much damage this term as they have in the last half-dozen or so. I don’t think we’ve even seen a glimpse of a balanced budget since Clinton, and both parties have had periods of control since then.