Another Cold One (Or Two)

Brrr is the name of the game through Saturday morning.  High today of 48, but given the cold north wind, (and as I type this, it’s drizzling too) it’s not going to feel that warm. When I left for class about 10:30, we were at 47 degrees, but with the wind, it felt like 41.  Right now, it’s 45, raining, and the wind is out of the northwest at 12 mph, gusting to 21 mph. Given that, the wind chill is 39. Tonight our overnight low is 30, with our high tomorrow just 40.  We’re also supposed to have a northwest wind at 15-20 mph tomorrow as well, leading the wind chill to be in the 30 degree range.  Additionally, tonight/tomorrow morning we could see our first flakes of snow or half-frozen crap.  It’s about the right time of year for that milestone.  Another month from now and we’ll be getting 1-3 inch snowfalls, but as I’ve said before, our big storms usually come in Jan-March. (I say that now, but it is a La Nina year and winters tend to be….interesting during La Nina years). Tomorrow night will definitely be a hard frost, with the temp getting down to 23. Thankfully though we do start to warm up Saturday, with our temps getting into the low 60’s by Monday. While that won’t break any records, it’s also not usual for us to see 60’s in November, even early in the month. 

We got some details on the Billy Budd assignment today.  It’s two pages, to be written with a partner and due a week from today.  My partner is Stephanie, someone I know, but don’t know well.  The two best pairs get the opportunity to do an oral argument for extra credit points on the final exam. So I need to get a copy of Billy Budd (I’ll likely go to Barnes & Noble after UPS later tonight) and get it read this weekend.  I’ve also got to put together my cheat sheet for BLR, and get a handle on my cases and arguments for Memo 2. I’ve also gotta do laundry, do dishes, pick up my apartment, and clean the bathrooms before my mom gets here Saturday afternoon. Busy busy busy!

"Life is measured not by the number of breaths we take, but by the moments that take our breath away."

free online journal

 

Please go to Refresh Everything and vote for FictionAlley’s Pepsi Refresh Idea. You can vote once a day for the month of November. On December 1st, the finalists will be announced.

Log in to write a note
November 5, 2010

I can’t imagine why anyone would want to live in the North. It is so cold there. I was born in Port Clinton, Ohio. I do miss Ohio, but not the winters. My son is 9 and he is always excited when we get a little snow here in Alabama. It snows and then it immediately melts within one day’s time frame.