I hate my job

I work in an office part time doing mainly grunt work.  I file, enter data, and other menial things as they crop up.  Also as a part of my job, I deal with inventory.  I hate inventory.  I also happen to think it’s dumb to have be part of my job (I work within the purchasing department) instead of being within the Shipping/Receiving department. The stuff that has to be tracked and inventoried is stuff I’ve never heard of, let alone know what it looks like.  It’s all scientific equipment.  Doesn’t it make more sense to have inventory be part of shipping/receiving, as they’re the ones that deliver all this stuff and are at least reasonably familiar with it?  Now we have an inventory system in the computer, but of course no one bothers to tell someone when they move something.  As a result, for someone like me who doesn’t know what this stuff is, it’s like going on a treasure hunt with less than half of the clues.  Though Shipping/Receiving on the surface doesn’t have those clues either, they have different ones that are better.  Today wasn’t so bad as I spent a good deal of my time dealing with invoices and orders.  But then it was inventory time and it was dumb.  Inventory is the big reason I hate my job, but I’ve also never felt like I really fit in.  The other problem with my job deals with my ADD.  One of the things I’ve heard several times about dealing with paperwork while having ADD is OHIO – Only Handle It Once.  The problem is that doesn’t work when dealing with invoices, or even inventory.  So I get invoices and those invoices have to be attached to the correct order.  On each invoice, I highlight the order number (so I can easily find it later) and circle any freight or tax (as they don’t usually get entered into our system when the order is placed).  Then orders with freight and orders without freight are separated and each pile is put in order.  Then I attach each invoice to the correct paper copy of the order.  For the invoices with freight, I correct both the paper copy of the order and the version in the computer.  However, invoices cannot be attached nor the orders fixed if the order isn’t in the files yet.  And unfortunately, the guys upstairs are not known for being quick about bringing their orders downstairs.  As a result, more often than not I have a pile of invoices on my desk.  Thus, OHIO doesn’t work for me.  And that’s frustrating.  I’ve thought before about finding a new job, but I’m not sure where I’m going to find one so geographically conveinent and pays $10.50/hour.  My office is right on campus, so if I have a large break between classes (like this semester, where I have a class that ends at 12:15 and the next one doesn’t start til 4) I can work a couple hours.  Although, that’s more of a problem this semester than next semester.  Next semester my schedule is much more block-like.  Though that still gives me the problem of finding something that pays as well.  With graduation coming up quickly I need to be saving money, especially this summer.  Aside from that, I also have a monthly car payment of $304.04/month.  Working 12 hours/week nets me around $230 every two weeks.  So my car payments are another factor, aside from simply saving money…*sigh.*

Log in to write a note