I just….

 

 

 

 

I’m not sure how to put into words what I’m feeling at the moment. I’m going to try, but it’s likely to be disjointed. 

I really wish I had someone my own age who I could talk about the Gospel with – someone who’s also a member.  I’ve never really felt comfortable talking with my mom about it, mostly because it feels like teacher-student, rather than peer-peer.  That’s definitely a requirement in my future husband though.  But right now I’m lacking that in my life.   I might be able to fix that if I spent the 35-40 minutes driving down to University ward downtown but that’s really a pain and is really hard in the wintertime.  Not to mention, I love my family ward. 

Another thing that’s really bothering me tonight is that we’re not having anything resembling a family x-mas party.  It’s just me and my parents and brothers heading down to my grandparents’ house on Christmas Eve.  WIth this likely to be my grandmother’s last x-mas, I simply don’t understand why the family isn’t doing something.  Granted, some of us got together for Thanksgiving, but Thanksgiving doesn’t hold the same memories.  There’s always been a family x-mas party for as long as I can remember.  I even have an old home movie of it at my grandparents’ house.  I have very fond memories of that.

On another note, I have a friend going through some hard times and I don’t know how to help her.  I’m truly at a loss.  I think for the moment, all I can do is pray and pray and pray that she’ll find her way.

 

jacqueline milhone's facebook profile

Log in to write a note
December 21, 2008

I think that as long as you let your friend know you are there for her, I’m very sure that’s all she wants to hear and to know that she is not alone. I hope she’s okay.

December 27, 2008

Sometimes all you can do is pray and be there for her, like the above noter said. I’m sorry you don’t have many peer members around. I can kind of relate – being in the family ward myself. There’s just me and another girl who’s 19 but she’ll be moving soon. It’s also hard when most of the girls my age are attending the singles stuff. Are there any your age who live closer to you? Maybe you could do an activity together. 🙂