I’m always amazed

 

I’m always amazed at how well the Lord knows me and knows what I need. However, I’ll get to that in a minute.

I had the chance to go home this last weekend. I was home last the weekend of September 22nd. That weekend, I was home to help out my parents. They were in Florida and wouldn’t get back until mid-day Saturday and were afraid they wouldn’t get home in time to pick up Sammie from the kennel and thus she’d have to stay there until Monday. That weekend, I drove up Thursday after class and drove back to school Monday morning. Given that my parents didn’t get back until 1:00 on Saturday afternoon and they spent Sunday morning in IL visiting my grandmother (I wanted to go to church and I was getting over a cold), I didn’t see a whole lot of my parents.

This weekend I went home on Thursday after my last class and drove back this morning. Thursday night was pretty quiet on the whole. Friday on the other hand was terrific. Friday morning wasn’t as great, as I discovered I need to align my wheels on my car again and drop in the neighborhood of $80 (Sears informed me of this after I got my oil changed there). I didn’t get it done then as I was pressed for time, but it’s something I’ll have to take care of this week, as they’re apparently badly out of alignment. However that afternoon, I got to drive down with my dad to see my grandmother . I hadn’t seen her since right before she left the nursing home early in September. Just last Tuesday in my counseling session my counselor suggested finding ways to see her or to communicate with her as it’s harder for me to go see her these days. And then just a few days later, I got to go see her . She’s doing alright on the whole, especially given that she’s been off chemo since late March! There are days we think she’s going to outlive us all. I’ll be surprised if she’s still here come Christmas time, but we’re going to enjoy the time we have with her while we have it.

Saturday and Sunday I got to see my brother . I’m still surprised sometimes at how well he and I get along now, whereas when we were kids we really didn’t get along that well. My dad picked him up on Saturday morning after which they went grocery shopping. My dad, Jason, and I watched the Badger game on Saturday night and were depressed at the outcome, to say the least. Even though they lost, watching the game with my dad and brother was fun.

Sunday I attended my old ward with my mom and it was their ward conference. That was a good thing, as it meant I got to see the Stake President. He’s a family friend and has been for many years now. He’s also been my mom’s home teacher for several years now. His wife was also obviously in the ward. It’s so great to see the Nelsons. smile

Prior to going home, I’d pretty much made a decision regarding my calling. However I was still thinking about it and praying about it. It seemed like everything said was pointing in one direction. In Relief Society in particular, President Nelson talked briefly about Mary, and how even though she’d never been with a man and was as young as she was, she did what the angel (& by extension the Lord) asked of her. President Nelson suggested that perhaps we should all be a little more like Mary. As a result, I’m going to give Brother Stewart a call in the next day or two about the calling. It may not be tonight, simply because I’ve got a lot to do tonight.

After going home for the weekend, I’m feeling a lot steadier than I was. I didn’t get nearly enough studying done over the weekend, but I got enough done. I’ve got a fair amount to do this week though. At this point, our last day of regular class is just four weeks from tomorrow so that’s starting to stress me out a little. But I’ll get through it. Next semester will be busy too, thanks to Moot Court, but that’s a topic for another day.

 

"The future belongs to those who believe in the beauty of their dreams." ~ Eleanor Roosevelt

 

 

Weather Forecast | Weather Maps

 

i'm a mormon.

 

free online journal

 

 

Log in to write a note

Any time that you help others, it is a wonderful thing.