What a Week + A New Calling

 

Last week was definitely a crazy week. Monday was relatively quiet, thankfully. I was tired though after driving back and dealing with classes and lots of studying. Tuesday, on the other hand, was a crazy day. The class day itself was fine, as was the studying I did following my classes. I had left my heat on while I was at my parents’, as it was quite cool outside. Tuesday afternoon after getting home from class I turned it off as it was 70 degrees outside. Following that I did some necessary grocery shopping.

A little after 8 pm, my carbon monoxide alarm went off. After figuring out what alarm was going off and ascertaining that the alarm wasn’t beeping because of a dead battery, I grabbed my jacket, keys, and cell phone & left my apartment. Once outside, I called my dad, told him what was going on and asked him who to call. He told me to call the non-emergency number for the fire department. Given that I hadn’t taken my computer or ipod touch, he looked up the number for me. After calling them, they sent both a large fire truck and an ambulance. However the ambulance left before actually finding my apartment (the fire truck was behind my apartment and called off the ambulance once they were sure it wasn’t needed). They checked my oven and my furnace and sure enough, my furnace was spewing off just enough carbon monoxide to go off. They called my apartment maintenance who came & checked it out too. It was okay to stay in my apartment so long as I left the furnace off that night. It wasn’t a huge deal, as it was going to be warm enough overnight.

The following day, the regular maintenance guy checked out my furnace and found that a piece from the furnace had fallen on top of two of the three burners, likely leading to the carbon monoxide issues. Once that was fixed, he tested it several times that day and found everything was fine. The one drawback to Wednesday, however, was that I needed to leave the law school in enough time to be able to talk to someone at the apartment complex before the office closed at 5pm. That meant not quite getting all my reading done and rushing through it so I could leave. I had a fair amount of studying to do after classes on Thursday as well. Friday was spent driving up to my pdoc appointment for a med check & then seeing my grandfather. Saturday was fairly quiet until it came time for the Badger game – many was that hard to watch.

On Sunday, I officially accepted my new calling and was sustained in Sacrament meeting and then set apart following church. I’m the new Sunday School teacher for the 14 & 15 year olds. As I said in my previous entry, I’m always amazed at how well the Lord knows us. I was reminded of that when I was set apart. I was reminded again later on when I reread my patriarchal blessing. While I won’t go into specifics, I will say there are things in it, things I’ve always worried about that I’ve never mentioned to anyone but the Lord.

On one level, I definitely feel like my new calling is a kick in the butt from the Lord to get my butt in gear. I admit, I’m not nearly as good about saying my prayers or reading my scriptures as I should be. This particular calling will force me to be better at both.

 

"The future belongs to those who believe in the beauty of their dreams." ~ Eleanor Roosevelt

 

 

Weather Forecast | Weather Maps

 

i'm a mormon.

 

free online journal

 

 

Log in to write a note
November 1, 2011

Wow, what an adventure. I’m glad you had that alarm so you would protect yourself from the gas. And good luck with the new calling!

January 3, 2012

I remember being unsure of whether I was right for a calling back in California, but it was totally what I needed. In fact, it’s influenced my change of major.