Institute

 Today was the first Institute class of the new semester. I actually get to attend Institute this semester since I don’t have a class during it. President Evans (the stake president) teaches it and I really like him. I made it to one class last semester and including the Elders and President Evans, there were probably 8 or 9 people in the room. Today, on the other hand, was just me, President Evans, and the Elders. While we’ll be finishing up the New Testament this year, today we read a little from the Book of Mormon before we get back into the New Testament next week.  Even though I’ve seen it happen so many times, I’m always amazed that the Lord knows exactly what I need to hear. The couple of things we talked about in Institute were exactly what I needed to hear right now. As I’ve mentioned before, there’s just so much going on in my life right now. So many decisions to make and I’m really not sure what to do about them. But Institute today gave me some direction that I really needed. 

Today marked the end of the first week of classes. There are no upper level classes on Friday this semester. We also have Monday off for Martin Luther King Jr. Day. I do have to head over to the law school tomorrow to work on a project with Shannon for our trademark class. On the whole, I don’t think any of my classes are going to be "easy." The only one I don’t think will be really interesting is Payment Systems. I’m only taking it because it’s on the bar exam. I do like the professor though, so I think that will help. I think Trusts and Estates will be a pain, but the cases so far seem to be interesting and the professor has a good sense of humor. Much to my surprise, I’m interested in Securities Regulation and I really like the professor. I haven’t had this professor in awhile, so it’s taking me a few classes to get used to his style of teaching again. I like the topic of Trademark, though the professor gets on my nerves sometimes. At least Shannon’s in there with me. Thankfully I have a friend in all of my classes so we can commiserate together. I don’t have any classes with Nate this semester, but it’s always possible he, Shannon, and I will make a habit of going to lunch on Mondays and Wednesdays.  It’s nice to continue connecting with some of my friends I don’t see as often, since we’ll all be disappearing in a few months. I’m definitely going to miss everyone when we graduate. Hopefully we all stay in touch over the years, as I’ve made some wonderful friends over the last two and a half years.

 

 

"The future belongs to those who believe in the beauty of their dreams." ~ Eleanor Roosevelt

 

how to help the national breast cancer foundation.

 

free online journal

 

 

Log in to write a note