January 15, 2013

If you’ve not read it, there’s another updated entry before this one. I’ve opted to start writing again. These entries are being written on ldsjournal.com and I’m pasting them over here.

Tuesdays in general are going to be a light day this semester. With only one class on Tuesdays, I can concentrate on reading for my other classes. That’s the thing about Mondays this semester – they’re long and each class has complex reading, long reading, or even both. Mondays start at 9am with Securities Regulation. Then I’ve got a break until 2:30 at which time I have Trademark. Then at 4:30 I have Trusts and Estates. Both Securities Regulation and Trademark are small classes so I’ve really gotta be on the ball. Trusts & Estates is a big class, but everything I hated about Property seems to be rearing its ugly head again. I do like the guy teaching Trusts and Estates though, which is a surprise. He’s a practitioner, not a professor. At least after one class he seems interesting which will help as I don’t find his class the least bit interesting.

In the next few days, I need to figure out for sure which bar exam I’m going to take. With some exceptions, you have to take the bar exam in the state you want to practice in. While I’m not interested in practicing, I do want to put on my resume that I’m licensed to practice in a given state. So at this point I’m going back and forth between two states. I’m attending law school in Illinois, but I had thoughts of going back to my "hometown" (where my parents are) which is in Wisconsin. Illinois’s deadline for the bar application is February 15th, while Wisconsin’s is much later. Now let me tell you, it’s a lot more convenient to go home and take the bar exam, rather than taking it in Illinois (where I’d have to spend several days in downtown Chicago).

In other news, I’m still finding my way using the new Youth curriculum for my Sunday School class. Mostly I’m still trying to figure out how to get my class involved as they’re not really the question answering type. Well, sometimes they are and sometimes they aren’t. There are days where getting them to talk to me is a struggle and there are days when it’s not a struggle, but let me tell you the former vastly outweighs the latter. I love my Sunday School class and I know eventually we’ll find our way, but it’s a little frustrating at times now. I will say, however, that I LOVE the fact that if I don’t finish a lesson, I can continue it the following week. I never know when my class will want to talk to me and be involved in the lesson so I always prepare enough material in case they’re quiet.
 

 

"The future belongs to those who believe in the beauty of their dreams." ~ Eleanor Roosevelt

 

how to help the national breast cancer foundation.

 

free online journal

 

 

Log in to write a note
January 17, 2013

Have you looked at the Teaching No Greater Call manual? It has a lot of ideas in how to get class involved, and it has different activities you can do as well. I think every class is going to be different, so I have to try a few different things until I find one or two that works for the class. For example, when I taught Beehives, they really liked hands-on activities. That got them to open up really well. If you don’t have a copy, the ward should get one for you. 🙂 I think it’s also online as well?