01/13/2013

It’s been nearly a year since I wrote in here last. What a time it’s been. This time last year my grandfather was in the hospital and my grandmother was slipping away. My grandfather rallied and went back to the nursing home, while my grandmother passed away on January 29th, 2012. To say that that was a difficult time for me would be a gross understatement. But now here I sit nearly a year later and I got through it. It was doubly difficult because it was the first time I’d lost anyone close to me. I got through that semester, though it wasn’t the best for obvious reasons. 

Fall 2012 semester went alright. For reasons passing understanding I still don’t have all of my grades (and classes for the spring semester start tomorrow!) But right now I’m sitting at the edge of a 3.0 cumulative grade point average. My goal when I started law school was to graduate with a 3.0. It’s still in reach, but it means I really need to work this last semester. For my last semester, I’m taking Trusts and Estates, Securities Regulation, Trademark, and Payment Systems. It’s so hard to believe that I’m nearly done with law school. Truthfully, I’m terrified of being done. I don’t have a job and I’m terrified of having to find a job and truly be an adult. I realize I’m 27, but I’m still terrified. I also don’t truly have any idea what I want to do with my life following law school. Oh, I know that I don’t want to be a lawyer and I want to see what other doors my J.D. can open. But beyond that? Totally clueless. I’m still taking the bar exam so I have that notch in my belt but of course I don’t know whether I should take the Illinois bar or the Wisconsin bar. Right now it’ll probably be Illinois, but that could change.
 
In other news from this year, Sammie was diagnosed with cancer this year. She had surgery this summer to remove a cancerous mass. The vet said she could still live a few years, but as a family we’re beginning to wonder if he’s right. Then, in late September, my parents bought a puppy. That’s right, my parents have two dogs again (an event my mother swore would never happen again). As I right this, Lexi is a five month old golden retriever with more energy than you can shake a stick at. She’s also a barker, more than even Maxie was. She was terrific at Thanksgiving, but when I went home for Christmas, she suddenly decided I was her new chew toy. Oh well – hopefully she’ll be better when I go home next.
 
Speaking of Thanksgiving, we were all once again home for Thanksgiving this year.  Stephen had been home briefly in early February for Grandma’s funeral but it was great to see him again. Christina once again also came home with him. However, this year Jason also had a girlfriend and she (Lauren) spent several days with us. I don’t know her as well as I do Christina, but I do like her.

 

"The future belongs to those who believe in the beauty of their dreams." ~ Eleanor Roosevelt

 

how to help the national breast cancer foundation.

 

 

 

free online journal

 

 

Log in to write a note
January 17, 2013

It’s hard getting things together for a career path. I think I am in the same boat.