Let’s see if I can do this…

I’m going to try and be better about updating this year. Of course, that may go out the window as soon as classes start in two weeks. As an update on my life over the last several months, Thanksgiving was good. Stephen and his longtime girlfriend Christina were both here for Thanksgiving and it was great to see them.  It was a full house but it was fun. Finals went well on the whole (more on that in a minute) though it was definitely a busy time. Christmas was great though a little strange as Stephen was not home for Christmas. However, Jason was home. Christmas Eve we all went down to see my grandparents. My grandmother is defying all odds and is still here. My grandfather’s memory continues to go downhill. As I mentioned in the previous entry, I got a Kindle Fire for Christmas and have been devouring books. New Year’s Eve we went down to see my grandfather for his birthday. In fact, there was a family birthday party for him down at the nursing home – a party my grandmother was up to attending.  I didn’t do anything for New Years. I had planned to go attend the ward here New Year’s Day, but it had snowed the night prior and we’d had some freezing rain. As a result, we ended up not going as the roads to church from our house don’t get salted well. Today I went over to Brianna’s and visited awhile. It was good to see her.

Going back to grades, the last of my grades for the semester were posted today. Grades were terrific this semester for me. A- in Intellectual Property, B+ in Constitutional Law II, B in Comparative Law, B in Federal Income Taxation, and a B in Bankruptcy. All were three credits, leaving me with a semester GPA of 3.2 and a cumulative GPA of 2.957. My goal is to graduate from law school with at least a 3.0 – a goal that’s firmly in reach. This coming semester is going to be a busy one, as I’m taking 16 credits. I’ve got  Anti-Trust, Agency, Evidence, Lawyering Skills, and Secured Transactions. Anti-Trust is the only one not on the bar exam or required to graduate. I’m also going to do moot court with Shannon. The top teams are then invited to be on the external teams for third year (in other words, actually competing against other schools). 

I’m no longer hungry for book recommendations, though I’ll still gladly take them. I just finished Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs – TERRIFIC fantasy book. It came out last year and there will eventually be a sequel. It’s also a book that would make a terrific movie. Speaking of books, http://www.goodreads.com is a great website for anyone that likes to read. You start out with three bookshelves (though you can add more) and you add books to those shelves (books read, books currently being read, and books to read). If you connect it to your facebook account you can also see what your friends are reading and can trade recommendations. In addition, once you rate 20 books, the site will start giving you recommendations. It also has a LOT of lists of books, such as top 100 books of 2011 or top 100 sci fi books. Definitely worth checking out if you like reading.

"The future belongs to those who believe in the beauty of their dreams." ~ Eleanor Roosevelt

 

 

Weather Forecast | Weather Maps

 

i'm a mormon.

 

free online journal

 

 

Log in to write a note
January 3, 2012

Interesting website, I’ll have to look into it! I’m glad you found something to read. And good job with getting good grades last semester!

January 3, 2012

From where you are, it looks like a good shot at your >3.0. Keep up the good work!

Congrats on your good grades. I have so few family around here, we are limited to who we visit and when.

January 5, 2012

I understand busy, but it’s great to hear from you. Not sure how I feel about reading on a Kindle, but I am a tad old fashioned when it comes to books. 🙂 Good luck on the new semester.

January 11, 2012

RYN: Aww, thank you! I think talking to someone would be great. Just as long as I don’t burden you in the process! lol. I think you may be right that I may need a different doctor. I kind of felt that way with my first counselor, Wendy. Things didn’t click anymore, so I changed to Charlotte. Maybe things are now getting old with Dr. Afroz. He helped me this far, and maybe that’s all that was needed?