Yes, I’m backdating this entry :-P

 

Yes, I admit I didn’t write yesterday due to my busy day.  Before I go into yesterday, let me go back to Saturday, following my last entry.  Badgers ended up winning their game. They came out in the second half raring to go and got three interceptions.  Following that, I got laundry started. Not long after, my mom arrived (having not called when she left my grandparents’).  She arrived about 3:30ish or so.  It was good to see her though.  We ended up leaving about 4 to head over to the student center and law school, after I’d put my laundry in the dryers (I did two loads).  I showed my mom where the bus picks me up then gave her a quick tour of the student center and the law school, which she liked :).  After that, we headed over to Lowe’s to get the plastic for my windows. We also got an extension cord and a draft protection thing for under my back door.  At that point, it was closing in on 5:15. Given that I needed to go home and still get some stuff done (and still do windows with my mom), we elected to head to the grocery store and get something for dinner there.  Got back to my apartment about 6,where I took care of my laundry (one load was dry, one wasn’t).  We got started with the window in the kitchen.  It was…difficult initially. Part-way through we took a break for dinner, and then finished that window. We finally got it, after fussing with it awhile.  However, I needed to get some stuff done. My mom did my bathroom window on her own (a fairly small window) and got the hang of it. We stuck in The Holiday and my mom watched that while I did some homework (reading Billy Budd and prepping to print cases for Memo 2). Ultimately I went to my room about 10:20, though it was near 11:30 by the time I turned out the light and went to bed.

Sunday morning I got up with my alarm at 8, and then turned back my clock :).  I laid in bed for a while, and finally got up for good about 8. My mom and I had pancakes for breakfast and then did two of my three remaining windows. We decided not to do the window in my study, since the desk is partly in front of the window and it would have been quite difficult to get the sticky tape along the outer edge of the window.  But my mom was right – it didn’t take too long to deal with the other two windows, even though they were quite large.  We also did my door draft thing for my back door. That has helped, though there’s still a draft coming in along the sides.  We put in Letters to Juliet before church, but didn’t finish it. Church was great too.  Sister Pitts remarked prior to Relief Society that she could tell I was excited to have my mom there, since I was grinning. All in all, it was really good to have her here for a night.

We got back to my apartment and my mom changed into jeans and I let her take Letters to Juliet so she could finish it.   I’ll bring it back with me at Thanksgiving.  She had me call my dad to tell him she was leaving and I talked to him for another 15 minutes or so to constitute my usual Sunday call. The rest of the day I took care of some things and did some studying (though not as much as I should have done). 

It’s interesting how excited I was to have my mom come down and come to church with me, even though I just saw her on Tuesday.   Maybe my memory’s faulty, but I don’t remember being this excited when my mom came up for a weekend when I was up at NMU (though I couldn’t wait to be done there).  It’s interesting how much I’ve come to value and be excited by seeing family just since I’ve been down here at school.  When we were driving back after church yesterday, my mom mentioned that she was proud of me for these steps I’ve taken.  She could also tell that I’m happy where I’m at.  I think she too could tell that this is where I’m supposed to be.

 

 

"Life is measured not by the number of breaths we take, but by the moments that take our breath away."

free online journal

 

Please go to Refresh Everything and vote for FictionAlley’s Pepsi Refresh Idea. You can vote once a day for the month of November. On December 1st, the finalists will be announced.

Log in to write a note