Father’s Day

I haven’t written anything here for about two days and it’s not because I never had the opportunity to or because I lacked something to write. I guess it could be the latter. Not so sure anymore. Whatever the cause, I don’t really care.

So I just discovered that it’s father’s day today. How did I find out? I saw an advert of Cartoon Network talking about how they’re gonna have a celebration today. Got curious and I googled it and indeed the 21st of June is father’s day. I sent a text to my father not too long ago felicitating with him. You’d think as his only son I’d call but it’s still too early and although we have a somewhat good relationship, I think it’s been undergoing some stress and we’ve been sort of drifting apart.

Most kids love and cherish their mothers a lot more than their fathers. It’s probably a 60 to 40 percent split. I love my mother and respect my father. Sounds weird but it’s how I’d put it. The love of a father is sometimes overlooked and considered to be incomparable to a mother’s love. I’d like to argue with that but I would probably concede and give in to the motion that a mother’s love is best.

There’s always going to be that imbalance. A father would sacrifice a lot for his children but a mother’s love would remain superior.

where am I going with this? I don’t know. My thoughts are all over the place.

All I’m trying to say is, we should try to be more appreciative of the fathers and husbands who sacrifice so much for their families.

Have a wonderful day

<3 <3

 

Log in to write a note
kat
June 21, 2020

Good post! How old is your father?

June 21, 2020

@kaliko Thank you. He turned 61 in January. I couldn’t make it home for his birthday. First time I’ve missed it.

June 21, 2020

I was always closer to my father while growing up. I loved my mother of course, but spent more time with my dad. he was such a quiet man, but he was the rock that held us all together.

 

June 21, 2020

@adrift My dad is a quiet man. Only talks when he needs to unlike my mother haha. She’s always saying something. But yeah, like yours, he holds us all together.