– Ringling Entry 2 –

The Ringling Brothers – Barnum and Bailey Circus traveled from town to town by train.

The animals traveled in special cars or in wheeled cages on flat cars. The animal and equipment/supply cages were often very colorful and elaborate.

John and Mable Ringling and their guests traveled with their guests in a private custom built railroad car

It was quite a feat to transport the circus from town to town as well as setting up and then striking the tents.

Log in to write a note
July 2, 2013

Very neat pictures! I haven’t ever known the circus like this. I did enjoy reading the book Water for Elephants which was centered around travelling circus’s

July 2, 2013

I can remember the excitement of seeing them setting up, but I never saw them dismantling.

Wow!!

That is such a cool place to visit!

July 9, 2013

Aloha… Ryn: It is a very old Oak tree… (what else would I dedicate to you)…? Smiles…………