A Kid and his Cell Phone

If you’d like to read about he Dru Sjodin case this is the link to the articles in the local newspaper

We made a brunch, fed the kids, cleaned up the kitchen. Then Derek called. I was getting ready! So I went to town alone so we could have some quality mother/son time alone. I picked up Derek and took him to get his cell phone. I thought about the pre-paid plans but what happens in an emergency and he has no minutes. He got a plan that there is no way that he can use all the minutes. He has 1000 anytime minutes and unlimited nights and weekends. If he goes over then he has a problem.

I told Derek that if it so happened that he was unable to pay the bill to let me know so that I could pay it. I would rather pay a $40 bill than to have him let it go and ruin my credit and his credit. I explained to him how much of a big deal that credit is now days. It is nothing to mess around with.

I was pretty proud of myself when the gal that was checking my credit said “you have excellent credit and that means that you can get up to four lines.” So how bad does your credit have to be to not be able to get even one line? No, I did not ask but I certainly wanted to.

I programmed my phone (home, cell, and work) numbers into Derek’s phone. And I programmed his number into my phone. Then I told him that he has no reason to not call me.

Log in to write a note
December 8, 2003

*crossing fingers* he will be responsible and not run up the bill

December 8, 2003

I don’t have to tell you, but speaking from experience, “Gee Mom, I’ve been busy.” It does get better though if we have enough patience. 🙂 – – – –