Changes ~ the Biggie!

I started my OD October 29, 2001, it does not seem like it was that long ago. I have not been faithful to OD in many years. I will have to find the actual date. Okay, it was September of 2012 that I pretty much stopped writing. Facebook came along and OD was set to the side. I am not sure why that happened, maybe because it was quicker to just scroll through FB rather than read all the entries of my favorite fellow OD keepers. I want to call them writers but I am not a writer.  I just put down my feeling, ideas, and thoughts without much structure. I be-bop here and there ~ that is how my brain works…brain works…that should not go in the same sentence when talking about myself!

I miss many of the OD keepers from the past and wonder about them often. How have their lives changed in the past ten years? Boy, oh boy mine has changed a ton ~ or so it feels like.

I lost my Mother to stage 4 lung and stage 4 pancreatic cancer, the doctor suspected brain cancer as well but did not test after finding the lung and pancreatic. It just didn’t matter. Mom decided on no treatment at all and was sent home on hospice.

The five of us youngest of seven were there, three of us present. The other two ~ whatever. Cory couldn’t handle crowds, we are a big family maybe he should have stayed in NY. Lori ~ well, she is Lori. Has never really done anything of anything. Leonard, Connie, and I were up every four hours (my mine is saying two hours, maybe 2 maybe 4) administering medication to keep Mom comfortable.

The doctor didn’t know how long she would survive on hospice. Could be days, weeks, months. They gave us no time-frame to go on.

It was eight days from diagnosis on Mom’s 72nd Birthday until she passed the morning of May 14, 2014 at 7:11 AM.

We knew that we would have visitors so Lori and I went to the grocery store to get supplies to feed the visitors. Lori made a personal purchase and her total was $7.11 ~ I took that as a sign that Mom was okay.

Mom’s friend Sally was there that morning and stay with us. She said to me “you can’t be mad at me, I told her it was okay to go.” I told Sally through tears that I wasn’t mad at her because I did the same thing.

Rest in Peace Mother  May 6, 1942 – May 14, 2014 ~ Seventy-two years and 8 days. I miss you!

 

Log in to write a note