Alone

I’m alone at the apartment. Emily’s at her parents’ house.
It sucks to be alone here. I mean I can always play WoW or Oblivion or whatever, or watch some hockey. But it sucks. I guess I understand her wanting to be home and have a relaxing break and not to have to stay here at the apartment alone during the day while I’m at work.

But it sucks to come home to an empty apartment, have to go to bed alone, and wake up alone. And I tried calling her all day and she wouldn’t answer. She was out and watching movies with her parents, but then when she did call… it just didn’t make up for it. I’m freakin exhausted too.
I had a good enough Christmas, but its still probably one of the worst ones ever. Just because its the first one I didn’t spend with my parents and brother.

I had to work Christmas eve, got done around 5:30, had to drive an hour to the apartment, and then pack my stuff and all the xmas gifts up in the car to take down to Chesapeake, a 2 hour drive. I left at about 7:20, got there a little after 9.
Woke up, had a good Christmas morning, opened presents from Emily and her parents.
The crappy thing about it was I didn’t know which stuff was from her and which was from her parents…it all just said "From Santa" on it. So I didn’t know if I should be especially grateful to her parents for getting me so much stuff, or if most of it was from Emily.

I didn’t get anything too amazing. It was good stuff but nothing that great. The greatest gift was one I didn’t end up getting unfortunately. Fuck Nintendo.

I say that because Emily and her Mom and her Dad went out on multiple occasions, very early in the morning, to stand in line and try to get a Wii for me. And they didn’t get one, because the demand was so rediculous and supply so low. They got in line at 6am at a Best Buy and didn’t get one. The people 3 spots in front of them did, but they got there at 4am.

So I was touched that they would go to such efforts for me. But the downside was that she spent all her time and energy trying to get that, and when, at the last minute, it became clear she couldn’t, she had to get something else for me. So I got a nice electric shaver and a home docking kit for the Sirius satellite radio my parents got me. Pretty cool stuff. But I enjoyed giving her the gifts I got for her more than getting my own. I got her some stuff she really loved and got excited about.
Biggest thing was a wireless weather station, which she’s really wanted: link
So she really liked that.

Another thing I got for her, which I thought she’d like, but she ended up getting really excited about and loving, was a package of all 4 Harry Potter movies on DVD. She loved that.
And then I also got her a nice lap-desk from Brookstone, since she studies so much on the couch or sitting in the bed. link

After we had dinner I had to drive back up to Richmond so I could go to my 4 service calls in Stafford the day after Christmas (today).
Fun stuff. It was a pretty good work day, but it sucks to have to travel so much on Christmas Eve and Christmas Day. And to only get to spend about 20 hours with Emily since 2 Saturdays ago. She’s coming home this weekend, but only for a couple days – then she’s going back to Chesapeake again, leaving me alone again.
But I am trying not to let her know how much I hate being without her because I don’t want her to feel bad. She deserves some time for herself after the hard semester she had.

Just sucks being alone. My family’s all up in Massachussetts, without me. At least I’m getting paid.

Log in to write a note
December 26, 2006

I agree, being lonely for the holidays like that is horrible. On the flip side, I think it’s a beautiful thing to have people in your life that you miss so much that the house feels empty without them. That emptyness is a very temporary thing, but her being in your life? Not so much. Much love, my friend. I hope you get what positive things you can out of your solitude and come out of it even more grateful to be in the company of such a great person.