Five Years.

For more than five years, I’ve hand-washed my dishes, but only the last five years were in my mom’s house. She passed in 2011, and I moved into her house a couple months later. It didn’t have an automatic dishwasher.

When I went into contract on this house, I could not wait to close and move in. Because I would not have to hand-wash dishes. (Well, other reasons too… SO MANY REASONS, but I digress.) As the closing drew near, Every time I would stand at the sink in the old house — what I now call the frEakin house — I would say to myself, <i>I won’t have to do this at my new house…</i>

Fast forward a bit to the present, I have tried using the dishwasher. I have tried 2 or 3 different kinds of detergent and rinsing agents, but still, I find that I end up hand-washing multiple items that don’t appear clean after they go through the cycle. They had what looked like dried up soap on them, especially the spoons. So I decided that I would just hand-wash the dishes and use the dishwasher as a giant drying rack. I’d put all the dishes I washed right in there, but… well, when I’d close it up, it would smell slightly moldy when I reopened it. New plan: hand wash the dishes, and then run them through the rinse and dry cycles. We’ll see how that goes.

But yeah… five years next month since my mom died. I miss her, of course. I really miss having THAT ONE PERSON who was just always on my side, who I knew would always love me, no matter what an asshole I am. The one who’d always be there for me. I miss having that go-to person. I know she’d be so proud of me, buying this house on my own.

Last weekend, as I began getting sick, I lay in bed one night, unable to sleep in spite of my exhaustion. That is when the mind goes to strange places, you know, and I started to question why my mom was gone, and my dad isn’t. My mom was no saint, but she wasn’t a pathological-lying, child-molesting piece-of-shit. Only the good die young? That thought seriously fucks with me, like maybe I need to asshole it up if I intend to outlive everyone. Is that how it works? I certainly hope not. I’m enough of an asshole as it is, ha.

Speaking of being sick, this morning I felt more like myself than I did the day before. I cleared out some ick from my chest and sinuses, but by afternoon, my energy was tapped out. So I’m still sick, but better. But definitely not 100%. My son though seems to have recovered almost completely. He’s upstairs bouncing on his bed. I need to go get him tucked in for the night; since he’s been sick, he put himself to bed each night. I guess that’s over.

He goes to his dad’s after school tomorrow, so I won’t see him until Monday. I’m going to the Renaissance Festival with my posse on Saturday. On Sunday, my boyfriend and I will be doing some demo in the kitchen. (Demolition, not demonstration, ha.) He’s so excited to put a hammer in my hand; maybe he wants me to take out my frustration with him on the wall, ha. He’s so considerate.

That’s my kid-free weekend plan. It’s no wonder I’m still not done unpacking.

Log in to write a note
October 13, 2017

I’m very sorry for your loss, yeah that hurst like hell, doesn’t it? Hey, there is something serious wrong with your dishwasher. I’m assuming it came w/the house and isn’t under warranty. Well, at least there is a space for the new one.

October 13, 2017

DOWN BY THE RIVER!

I always handwash my dishes. For a chore I used to loathe as a kid, it’s become a relaxing slow-down for a few minutes, when I turn on Pandora or an audiobook. Or maybe bad dishwashers gave me trust issues, & I just don’t trust any of them anymore.

October 13, 2017

Losing one parent and not the other, especially when they are so different – probably causes a river of emotions, that must be very hard.

October 14, 2017

My new dishwasher never did get the dishes clean . I don’t mind washing dishes, and I use my dw to store my pots and pans for my induction stove top. Love the induction stove top, btw! Hope your weekend is going good and that you feel better!