All I ever wanted.

Above: a long weekend we took in 2012. This is the New River in West Virginia. We went white water rafting and hiking.

I got approved for time off in December, and I even worked through my budget to make sure I can afford to not work for a week. (I’m trying to refrain from using vacation days, because I’m going to need them next year.) Everything’s good.

I spent some time looking at restaurants at and near the resort. I mainly just wanted to see what I was up against with the prices. I have this fear of being in paradise and running out of money. It’s not exactly rational, but my years as a pauper have instilled this kind of anxiety in me.

Though I’m sure my brother will plan our activities to the nine, I hope there is some built in down time; I’m an introvert, and too much peopling will take a toll on me. Not only that, I’m hoping that there will be some time for my boyfriend and I to explore on our own. He’s an introvert too, but he also is so much better at vacationing than I am.

I’m not sure I know how to vacation. I go places and the vacation for me is like… staying in a hotel, sitting on a beach, driving across the country only to drive back, NOT WORKING, and of course, bragging rights afterward. <i>Oh yeah, I’ve been to Hawaii. ::shrugs:: It’s ok.</i> Ha. I am terrible at planning to actually do stuff, like touristy things. So I’ll let my boyfriend and my brother handle that, I guess. I trust them to choose stuff that I will enjoy too.

Log in to write a note
October 13, 2017

I took 3 weeks of vacation this year and the more I vacationed the more anxious I got! I too am an introvert and have a problem being around people constantly. I don’t think it is a mistake to call it a “crush” of people. Feels that way.

October 14, 2017

You should pick ONE thing that you’d like to do, then make sure you do it. Later, during the bragging you get to say, “That was my idea!”