General Update

Soooo…

Still enjoying my new(ish) job. Feel kinda settled there now. I’m unofficially second in charge. They want me to be manager when the current manager leaves. I was meant to take over from the old manager but she handed her notice in sooner than they expected and it wasn’t really enough time to train me. Current manager only wanted the job for a little while (as he’s used to working for himself) so he’s holding it for when I’m ready. At the moment though, I’m not sure I want to be manager there… Director’s wife kind of drives me insane. I really get on with her but she makes life difficult for whoever is manager! But we’ll see how it goes – it’ll be a while yet and hopefully she’ll go back into accounting when both her kids are in school (roll on September) so she’ll spend less time at the opticians!

Had first one-to-one with new manager today. Took me by surprise as I didn’t know we were having them! But I went to make cuppas for everyone and he said “I’ll do your one to one while you’re upstairs!” he basically said he’s really happy with me “brilliant dispenser, brilliant with customers, love how you handle everything to do with contact lenses as its not my strong point! Great with training the staff” yay! Only bad points, I talk too much and when I’m chatting I work too slowly. Fair point lol – I like a good natter! But he basically said we work well together with me being his second in charge and he’s happy we get on so well! Also, I moaned about my work load…. Not that I mind doing so much but that there’s no one else who knows how to do half the stuff I handle! We have 3 new girls (varying degrees of newness) that we’re spending a lot of time training. At the moment, it’s only me and the manager who can really do things unsupervised so our work load is huge! But he’s promised me the newest girl, Holly to be my contact lens buddy. I think my comment of “you realise if I go on holiday for 2 weeks, there is no one who knows how to restock the contact lens trial banks in the lab?” made him realise he can’t leave it ALL to me! But we’ll get there.theres a LOT to train people on. I don’t think people realise how much you need to know to work in an opticians!

In other news, me and Jordan are OK. Squabble last night but nothing new there! I didn’t make the bed when I got home from work. He was off ill. I’m gonna let it go as he wasn’t well and quite snappy but after bringing him medicines home, making him a snack, bringing him drinks, making him dinner, taking him paracetamol etc etc to be sworn at for not making the bed (which he was still in when I was on my lunch break at work) was kindve a ‘why do I bother’ moment. “You think cooking a couple of things (and by that he means every meal he eats pretty much) you’re helping out? ” he says I do nothing around the house… Always has… And even when I do loads he says I do nothing… Guess who I’m not making dinner tonight? I will hang the washing out and do the dishwasher (which I generally help with anyway) but apparently my cooking his dinner doesn’t help. So I won’t. Almost 7 years of being moaned at for things not looking like a show home 24 hours a day. I’m getting very bored of it. And I’m sure he’s getting bored of me not having OCD.

Met my brother Dom’s new girlfriend Heidi. I really get on with her. She doesn’t seem my brother’s type though so I don’t know if they’ll last but I hope they do coz I think she’d be a fun sister-in-law! I got horrendously drunk during the evening of meeting her. Everyone did. Mum cant remember going home. Nan and grandad can’t remember getting home. I remember but I dunno what time it was. Then I was sick… First time in a very long time! I’m too old for it now I guess! Such a bad hangover…

Erm… Getting my kitchen tiled Sunday… Topps Tiles uk…diamanté tiles in teal… I’m being bold! Love my kitchen!

Other than that, life is just ticking over! I’m generally happy. Feeling a bit meh today but no real reason for it!

Lauren 🙂

Log in to write a note