this and that and some more

Been a while.

Dunno when the last time I wrote in here was so i’m just going to update generally.

I’m in a new house in Cambridge with new housemates. Gemma, Chloe, Tom and Jen. It’s going well so far. Only one minor tiff and that was sorted out the next morning. All washing up is shared, milk is shared, fridge and freezer shelves shared….complete opposite to my last house. It’s so nice to feel like I have housemates rather than I live in a house with 4 other people…well five if you count our constant lodger last year. I’m pretty happy here. And my room is nice. Ihave the attic room so it’s pretty big. Nice comfy double bed, lots of space. 2 separate sides of my room. Skylight windows so I can lay in my bed and look at the stars.

Back at uni for my final year. I’ve been doing my homework on the night that I get it. I’ve organised separate notebooks so that I can write up my notes after each lecture and have a nice neat copy and can understand my handwriting when I come to revise. I’ve only missed one lecture because I had a hangover but it was my friend Max’s 21st birthday…in my defence and it wasn’t an important lecture at all. I also asked people for the notes when I went to my lecture later that day (and there were no notes to take – proof that I didn’t miss much). I’ve also started doing things for my dissertation. I’ve got quite a bit of research already (after only 2 weeks) have been taking random trips to the library (including Wednesday after I finished work at 8.25pm!) and have been sitting reading loads of them and taking notes and absorbing lots of information. I’m pretty chuffed with myself uni wise at the moment. Dunno how long it will last but I’m going to try…it IS my final year and my last chance and the year that counts for the most of my degree…I’ve also apparently inspired 2 of my housemates (Gemma and Tom) to do some work so it’s not only doing me good. Alex also (my best friend who is also on my course) has started his dissertation work and I doubt he would’ve if I hadn’t announced a couple of times that he should join me in the library.

Wedsnesday my brother gets home from his travels. He’s been away for 6 months having the time of his life in Oz, New Zealand, Laos, Bali, Cambodia, Thailand, Vietnam etc etc etc. Wednesday I’m having a night out with my Cambridge buddies. It is a joint birthday evening out for me, Chloe, Jen and Alex. Chloe and Jen had their birthdays over summer so it’s not technically their birthdays but they didn’t get to celebrate with Cambs people so they’re in on the team. I think it’s going to be a good night. We’re all making a little bit more of an effort and dressing up nicely… dresses and heels and everything. Good Lord!! Also, Wednesday I have a contact lens check up…that’s not very interesting but it’s happening Wednesday!

My mother went into Specsavers to book my appointment with them because I don’t have much credit. She got chatting to the manager (who is my friend Tom from back home’s dad) and he asked if I have an optician’s job yet. She said no (I was offered a job but they wanted me to work for a year and slowly train and then sign a 3 year contract. er…no thanks haha) and he said that I should go to the Cambridge branch and ask for a certain man and say I know Tom’s dad and that he would give me a job. I didn’t really want to work in Cambridge but… if I’m gonna get offered a job just because I know someone, it would be silly to turn it down.

What else interesting do I have to tell?

I’m ill…everyone give me sympathy. I dunno what’s wrong. I was at bowling yesterday and all of a sudden I got a sharp pain in my neck. Every time I swallowed I was in agony. I’ve had a little bit of a cold but nothing much. But now, I have this massive lump come up on my neck and I can’t eat anything. Well that’s not true, I can but it hurts like HELL. And I have ulcers all over my mouth. The lump and ulcers get bigger when I eat too. So that’s nice. And recently I’ve needed loads and loads of sleep… as in I can have 12 hours sleep and still feel absolutely shattered and have to force myself to get up and out of bed and have a hot drink to wake myself up a bit. It’s so annoying because I’m feeling so productive at the moment and I just can’t get the energy to do anything 🙁

Jordan’s show is going well. He’s happy. http://www.vsrecharged.com listen every friday 7-9pm english time and send him unsigned bands to check out!! (jordan, do I get a present for saying that?)

Ok, I’ve run out of interesting things to say and now i’m going to stop typing and making loads of noise while Chloe, Gemma and Tom try to watch Rome. (oh yes, we actually watch things together tooand don’t just sit doing our own things…not that I like Rome but that is NOT the point)

I should catch up with other people now.

Laterz. xxxx

P.S. I get old Sunday – it’s my 21st birthday! argh!

Log in to write a note