Letting it go…small pieces at a time

I got home from work and was searching through my closet for something and I looked up and there at the very back hung my wedding dress.  I stood there for a minute and stared at it.  I picked it up and felt happy for about 2 seconds and then I just starting to feel overwhelmed.  I always thought I’d get married and life would fall into place.  I’d get the house, finish college, get the career, have a family, my daughter would wear that dress and I’d grow old with the person I love. 

None of it happened.  I have a good job, but not a career, I didn’t get to finish college yet, no kids, and I’m on my way to getting my house.  1 out of 4 in 9 years, not bad huh?…*sigh*… I’m left saying goodbye to some of those things for the moment and although it makes me sad I know there are still good times to be had.  Being alone is scary and sucks I’m not looking forward to it, but it’s better than being unhappy with someone.

When you’re weary
Feeling small
When tears are in your eyes
I will dry them all

I’m on your side
When times get rough
And friends just can’t be found
Like a bridge over troubled water
I will lay me down
Like a bridge over troubled water
I will lay me down

When you’re down and out
When you’re on the street
When evening falls so hard
I will comfort you

I’ll take your part
When darkness comes
And pain is all around
Like a bridge over troubled water
I will lay me down
Like a bridge over troubled water
I will lay me down

Sail on Silver Girl,
Sail on by
Your time has come to shine
All your dreams are on their way

See how they shine
If you need a friend
I’m sailing right behind
Like a bridge over troubled water
I will ease your mind
Like a bridge over troubled water
I will ease your mind

 

 

Log in to write a note
May 3, 2011

I love that song…and yeah, being alone is scary…at least you can leave the house since your truck runs lol