The past week here…

Last Friday it was 100 here. I had my wedding rehearsal, outside, at 5 in the evening. We grilled dinner outside, then worked on decorations. At 9 we had just finished up, and the first of the storms blew in. We raced home through winds, flying debris, falling branches, etc.

Saturday was the wedding. On our way to pick up the flowers the thermometer read 109! I arrived at the farm (the wedding venue) to find out they had no power, due to last night’s storm. They had generators hooked up and had everything going except the well pump, which meant no running water. My groom picked up cases of water to use to flush the toilets. Wedding was at 5, at 4:50 I did my makeup and at 5 I put on my dress. I stood in front of a fan drinking water the whole time. Wedding went off beautifully, a shade had moved over the altar and there was a nice breeze. Power came back on when we were doing pictures! I got too hot/dehydrated/hadn’t been eating right during the pictures and almost passed out. Another bottle of water, and 10 minutes in an air conditioned car and I was good to go again! During the reception, a rain and hail storm blew through. Cooled things off but was a bit scary! Power stayed on.

Sunday, high 90, we were going to do a few things around the house, then head to Myrtle Beach to start our honeymoon. That morning a storm blew in. Wind, rain, hail… Lost a tree on our property right next to our house, and right over our power line. A power line fell on a trailer nearby and it burned. No trip for us. DH went through the neighborhood removing trees and debris from the roads. Another smaller storm came through that evening.

Monday, high 90, DH and his friend cut up our tree. I had only 2 trees in my yard, and now I have zero shade on my house! His friend went to take the vests back from the wedding and DH finished moving limbs by himself. Somewhere along the way he lost his wedding ring. He felt absolutely horrible, I couldn’t even get mad. I just helped him look, and was thankful no one had been hurt. He found it after dark. He took a flashlight out and shined it at the ground and it sparkled back at him! I’ve never seen him so relieved in my life!

Tuesday we did get to leave for the beach! Where it was 100+ everyday that we were there! We saw fireworks on the beach on Wednesday. On Thursday afternoon we dressed and headed to the beach. As soon as we got there a storm rolled in. We spent most of our honeymoon eating and shopping. Trying to keep cool! We got home Friday night and Danny is back at work today.

Log in to write a note
July 7, 2012

Yay you’re hitched! Congrats!!! I’m so happy for you!! Sounds like the storms messed with your plans but you have a better story to tell than most people. 🙂 A memorable and entertaining event for sure! 🙂 *hugs*

July 7, 2012

I saw this awesome video on youtube when the couple said their vows a tornado had formed in a field across from them… they didn’t even stop the wedding. Insteaad they said “I do ” then turned around to watch the tornado.