DePhoMo #8 (Animal)

I feel so bad using "stock footage" I really should be taking pictures daily, but it’s cold (currently 10 degrees), I have to work, and I have no clue where to find an animal aside from pulling the squirrels out of their trees.

In fact, I looked through all of my photos that I’ve taken in the past year and a half or so, and have had a fun time arguing with my mother about what was, in fact, an animal.

::notes this next segment is almost word-for-word::

"How about this one?"
"That’s a kid."
"Oh.  They’re not animals?"
"No."
"I have a picture of a full herd."
"Not animals."
"Okaaaaay… then this one."
"That’s your uncle."
"Yeah.  Does he count?  He’s kinda furry."
"No.  He’s not an animal."
"Dammit.  This one then?"
"Pretty picture… where’s the animal?"
"I dunno, there has to be an animal there somewhere.  I know! We’ll call it ‘find your own animal."
"Somehow… I don’t think that’d work."

So, we’ve decided that kids, uncles, and pretty pictures of rivers are, in fact, not animals.

But birds are.

Kinda.

 img_0072.jpg picture by zarlune

I wish I had the picture of the prarie dogs from when I was 15.  THOSE were animals.

Log in to write a note
December 8, 2009

Cool 🙂 RYN: Yeah, I have a big stash of handspun yarn (as well as mill spun / shop bought) that I’m waiting to use. I dye the fibre as well before I spin it 🙂

December 8, 2009

RYN: I couldn’t part with my handspun – I love it too much! I’ve sold shop bought yarn that I’ve dyed 🙂