2020 Needs to Exit Gracefully

Tapping my FB icon is usually evokes a feeling of being connected to those I cherish and love.  This last few months this has not been the case.  In some respect, I suppose that COVID and an election year is bound to bring out the worst in folks.  People are scared, tired, and ready to resume what they would call normalcy, but the manifestation of this year can only be summed up in one word…divided. Tapping that icon and seeing what my family and friends are up to can be disheartening.  My FB page that was once filled with beautiful pictures of family and friends engaging in activities is filled with messages of hate and distrust.

My television screen is filled with the same thing.  I do not think that we have watched two hours of TV in as many weeks.  I begin and end my day with a book on the porch.  I stream music and sing along.  I have baked cookies and bread to keep my hands from being idle. Dave and I have lined out projects and started checking things off our to do list.   My favorite thing is the long drives that we take through the area we now live.  They started with a simple question from Dave.  “I wonder where this road goes?”  My hubby loves to take those roads less travelled, so off we go to make unique finds.  Little country shops and diners that have friendly people who are not caught up in all the worlds mess.  People that we’ve never met tossing a wave over their steering wheel as we travel down that unknown road.  It is a joy to stand and talk about the landmarks with folks whose faces we cannot see but friendliness we can feel as we chat about the history of our little town of Lincoln. So very peaceful and soothing to my soul.

I do miss my evening scrolls through FB.  I find myself wondering what is going on in the world and chance a quick glance at my nightly news, but for the most part, I prefer the off button to the TV and using my phone to make calls rather that scroll apps.  I think this may become my new normal.  No comments, discussions, hurt feelings. Just peace in my little corner of the world.

 

 

Log in to write a note
November 11, 2020

Lovely entry nicely worded that evokes a sense of peace in me. Thank you!

November 11, 2020

I have cut back on FB as well. I still check in, but not as often. It’s been a rough year.