Don’t Be A Stranger

My friend Becky was just sure that I would never want to return to the lake after learning of Mike’s death while visiting there.  I remember the first drive I made back there over Labor Day weekend.  I pulled out of the parking lot on a Friday after school and jumped on 50 Highway toward the Lake of the Ozarks.  The thump of the tires dropped into a steady rhythm and so did the tears.  I was a regular snot fest.  Two full hours of dripping and sniffing, but by the time I arrived my heart felt lighter, and I knew that I could come for visits to the lake, sit on the dock, and reminisce of times past and when Becky stepped onto the deck and hugged me, all was well with my soul even if I was hiccupping and red faced.

Over the next few years, there were ladies weeks, weekend getaways, and a lot of dock time. It  was on one of those lazy dock days that a boat pulled into slip.  Tom’s brother stepped onto the landing with a lady friend.  I did not pay him much attention at the time. We simply shook hands over introductions and he and friend joined us at the table.  He and Tom shared stories of childhood antics and the day filled with laughter.  It was fun to watch the brothers that weekend.  I found myself smiling a bit more than usual. It was a good day.

Roughly a year later, I found myself visiting Tom and Beck at the lake once again.  Book in hand, I was stretched out on the couch when Dave, Tom’s brother, came in, plopped on the love seat, with a book in his hand.  He was joining us for dinner. I distinctly remember sneaking peaks at him throughout dinner. It was fun.  In March, I saw Dave again at the wedding of Becky’s daughter.  We stood at the back of the church and talked as family pictures were made.  My daughter was the photographer, so we rode together from Kansas City to Columbia.  I left her my keys and rode to the reception with Dave simply because he invited me. The evening was spent with good food, great drinks, dancing, and the first inkling that I really liked this man.  He was single, intriguing, and so much fun. The biggest issue…he lived at the lake.  I lived in Kansas City.  He was retired and single.  I still had a few years to teach and was newly widowed. I was horrible at the dating thing, and he had no idea that I was interested.  The second problem…our age difference. Dave had just turned 80 and I was 56.  We had tons of fun at gatherings, but he never asked me out.

Late September of 2018, Becky’s mom passed away. Dave and I found ourselves seated together at dinner after the funeral. There was quiet conversation and a focus on Beck who had just lost her mom.  When the day was over, we walked to our cars and then I said to him, “Don’t be a stranger,” gave him a hug, climbed into my car and drove home.

Three weeks later, Dave called and invited me to dinner and later went for coffee.  We talked for hours.  The next weekend came and again we closed up the IHOP.  It was just he and I.  Only one person in the whole world knew that I was dating, and he was sitting across the table from me. We had decided to not be strangers.

 

Log in to write a note

Love is grand eh?