A Rude Awakening

I woke up this morning and went about getting dressed and ready for my day as I do everyday and while in the bathroom I accidentally kicked my scale that has been dead for awhile. I need to get a new battery. Anyway when I kicked it it turned on so I decided for the heck of it I’d weigh myself. I haven’t weighed myself in a very long time. What I saw shocked me! I knew I had gained some weight but wasn’t too worried about it. I had thought about possibly talking to my doctor about the gastric sleeve surgery when I go in for my next check up which isn’t for several more months or so. It’s a drastic step but one that I thought would help my pain. I figured less weight on my joints would help take away alot of my pain. I don’t really want to take that step if I don’t have to so I talked to my mom and wer both decided it’s time for a change. I’m starting to eat healthier and diet next month. I already have all my groceries for this month so I’ll eat my normal everyday meals that I make until I go grocery shopping for July. Then it’s going to be a BIG change in what I buy and make. I’m not going to be able to shop for a month’s worth of groceries anymore because the vegetables and fruits will go bad over that long period of time. I went on Pinterest where I get most of my recipes and looked up alot of different salads and healthier lunch and dinner options. I’m not going to give up everything, just most things. I’m going to allow myself that 1 can of pop a day that I allow myself now and stick to my water and iced tea that I drink otherwise. I’m going to continue eating my one bagel with cream cheese in the morning like I always do and even keep a few recipes I have now that aren’t so bad health wise. I’m going to have my mom take a full body picture of me the beginning of next month and then I’m going to follow this plan for the months leading up to my check up with my doctor. If it’s going good and I’m showing some progress in weight loss then I’ll forgo asking my doctor about referring me to get the gastric sleeve surgery. If I’m not making any progress then I’ll talk to him about it. I hate strict diets and refuse to follow them because they cut out everything. I’m going to allow myself to still go have my steak dinner once a month but instead of the baked sweet potatoe with the brown sugar and butter loaded up, I’ll choose the broccoli or something. And I’ll still occasionally allow myself a sweet item just not as much of it as I eat now. Healthy changes, not a strict diet. Let’s see how that goes!

Log in to write a note
kat
June 17, 2021

Everyone I know that has had that done experienced many health issues after because it starves your body of nutrition!

June 17, 2021

Changes that can last a lifetime are the way to go. Sticking to an unreasonably restrictive diet means immediate success and ultimate failure. One idea: Bagel and cream cheese has a lot of carbs, even when you only eat a half of one. Replacing the regular bagel with a multigrain one would be a healthier choice, although still heavy on the carbs. You could also choose the lighter cream cheese (I forget the name of it, but it’s right next to the cream cheese in the dairy case). If you switch to a slice of multigrain bread and smother it with low fat cottage cheese you get a similar mouth feel and taste without a lot of carbs.

Another idea: Eat as you normally do, but cut your portions in half. That was the recommendation from my regular doctor and it works if you can do it.

Good luck to you — you are right, less weight will mean less pain as your joints aren’t as stressed.

June 18, 2021

See my recent entry. I braved getting on my scale too.