An early start

My friend Lilly messaged me Friday night that her and the other woman that takes care of Marty (the quadriplegic man) had decided they both need days off. One of them works early afternoons and the other evenings everyday usually. They decided that since I was working there now that they could work it out to each get a whole day off… but to do that they needed me to start on my own Saturday. No more training. They felt I was already ready to be on my own. So I showed up Saturday afternoon and the other woman, Angel was still there fiishing up getting Marty out of bed, dressed, teeth brushed and she had to shave him which she showed me how to do in case it ever comes up that I need to do it. We talked alot and she stayed there another hour and a half. After she left everything went very well. He pretty much can tell you how and when to do things if you forget which I didn’t anyway but it was nice to know I wasn’t completely on my own in this. He usually eats late, around 7 or 8pm and when the time to eat rolled around he decided he wasn’t hungry and was going to fast instead. I was getting hungry though because I usually eat around 5pm. He told me to eat one of the sub sandwiches that was bought for that nights dinner do I did. I usually don’t eat roast beef sandwiches but I remembered that on Thursday when he had pizza he got chicken, bacon, ranch pizza and the other sub in the fridge was a chicken, bacon, ranch so I figured I’d save that one for him and I’d just eat the roast beef one just to get something in my stomach. It was alright. Not something I’d normally choose to eat but it filled my stomach. The night went by fast. Before I knew it it was time for me to help him to his son’s room to visit with him and time for me to leave. On my way home I ran into a severe thunderstorm. There was heavy rain, thunder, lightning and hail. It made it hard to see very well. I got home safe though. I work again tomorrow and I feel more comfortable on my own now. 

Today my brothers, and my one brothers girlfriend and her kids were all planning on going over to my mom and dads and bringing dinner for fathers day. I’ll be stopping by to visit with them. I need to see if I can find a father’s day card for my dad before going over. I had forgotten to get one this past week.

That’s about all I have going on right now. I hope everyone is doing good! Take care!

Log in to write a note