And here we are again

Last year, August, my son’s best friend came to stay with us. He had gotten into a bad fight with his grandpa who is his guardian. I was told that he was kicked out of his house. He ended up staying with me into November. I was going to the laundromat back then because I didn’t have a washer and dryer yet and I was tasked with doing his laundry as well. I had to give him rides places, make sure he was home at curfew, feed him and make sure he could get into my house when I wasn’t home. I didn’t have another spare key. It got old real quick! With both him and my son home there was always too much noise keeping me from falling asleep at night. Not to mention the toilet seat always being left up. My son doesn’t do that but his friend did every time! I was tired of being in my own home and stressed out. He was a respectful kid but I was just wanting my house back to normal. He also slept on my couch and it would be hard in the morning to sit in my parm living room and watch TV because it would wake him up, not to mention I only have a couch so there would be no room for me to sit down. I finally put my foot down and said he had to leave by Thanksgiving. I felt awful but I just couldn’t do it anymore. 

Now last night my son comes in at 2:30am and says Isaiah has to stay because he’s kicked out of the house again. I figured it’s just for the night so it was no big deal. Then just a little bit ago he saw that I was getting ready to do my son’s laundry and asked if I’d wash something for him. I figured it was an item or 2 so I said ok and asked him to get it. He came in with a whole load of clothes for me. He thought I had to go to the laundromat and was about to give me money for it until I told him I had a washer and dryer now. I asked him when he wad going back home and he said he was staying with me again if I didn’t mind because he couldn’t live with his grandpa anymore. Things are different now.  He has his own car so he doesn’t need me to take him anywhere. He works 2 jobs right now so will be gone alot and when my son is at the bar just hanging out and not working he will go with him there. He said he will also be at relatives homes alot too so he wouldn’t be around here too often. My thing is, can I deal with it again? Or do I tell him he can’t stay? I’ve been the only mom figure to him for several years. His mom is in prison. His dad is an alcoholic and lives in another state. I hate to have to tell him he can’t stay. I don’t want to hurt his feelings! I just want my peaceful house. My son usually isn’t home but since we came back from Kalahari he’s been home alot more. If they’re both gonna be here I know I’ll go crazy again. I got real use to being on my own for the most part, use to the peace and quiet. I told my son he can stay a little bit but this is not turning into another permanent thing like last time. He says he wasn’t aware it was suppose to and he’ll make sure it doesn’t. That’s a start at least. 

On another note I had a nice dinner out last night and brought the leftovers home for my dog. He devoured them. Today I think I’m just making some ravioli for dinner. I wanted to go grocery shopping but my son has to go into work at 2. So tomorrow it is.  It’ll be a long boring day today. Not much to do. 

I guess that’s it for now. Have a nice day everyone!

Log in to write a note
July 3, 2020

how old is this friend? And why can’t the state take care of him? Like a foster home?  I think you have enough to deal with and having him will not be a good thing.  And since he has a car why can’t he stay in that till he finds something else? And why can’t he stay at a relatives if he is going to visit them anyways?

July 3, 2020

@jaythesmartone He’s 16 or 17, can’t remember. I would never leave him to stay in his car. He’s like another son to me. Same goes for foster care. Add far as why he can’t stay with relatives I think it’s because they don’t have room for him but otherwise I’m not sure. I think this fight with his grandpa will blow over and he’ll go back there eventually. I’ll let him stay a little bit but not as long as before. 

July 3, 2020

@mamaqueenie518

I know what an inconvenience it will be but this time tell him there is no keeping quiet once your eyeballs open and he is to be really quiet at night…no loud talking or music. And also give him a date to be leaving.  And is he going to pay for his food and you doing his laundry?

July 3, 2020

@jaythesmartone I wouldn’t expect him to pay me for doing his laundry or feeding him. He’ll barely eat here anyway.