Eye problems

I had my yearly eye doctor appointment this morning. Time for new glasses. They said that my astigmatism has worsened this making my eyeglass prescription change. Makes sense now why even with my current glasses on things aren’t as crisp and clear as they had been last year at this time. Not to mention my dry eye disease makes things difficult. After reading about an hour my eyes start to get blurry because of the dryness. I read for 3-4hrs at a time so imagine how rough that can be. I can still see, just blurry and have to squint a little. It happens also after being on my phone for awhile doing my online puzzles or reading entries on OD or Facebook. My insurance thankfully covers $400 of my glasses. I only had to pay $77 or of pocket today. I told them when I went in that I couldn’t be anymore than $100 out of pocket and to show me their cheaper frames. I refuse to spend more than that on them. Mine are bifocals and I get the anti glare coating on them as well. I would like to get the coating to protect the blue light from phone and computer screens but that ups the cost so I do without. 

Yesterday I made my cheesecake and it came out great. I only made one tiny mistake…I accidentally used the smaller springform pan, not the 9″. So I couldn’t fit all the batter in it. That’s ok though, didn’t make any difference in the cheesecake, just smaller. 

I’m finishing up drying my son’s laundry now so I can get them over to him before my daughter takes my car for the next few days. 

I was happy to see that my Amazon order arrived early. I ordered a Swiffer Wet Jet mop and refills of the cleaner and mop pads. I also ordered an apron because I keep ruining my shirts while cooking and baking. I ordered more essential oils too. I now have almost 30 of them. I’m obsessed! My house always smells beautiful! I love it!

Anyway that’s all that’s going on here. I hope everyone is staying warm. We have a winter weather advisory for today through tomorrow morning. At least they’re only calling for an inch of snow this time but also alot of ice. So I’m mostly staying in and staying warm. Take care all!

Log in to write a note
January 25, 2021

I have bifocals and hate them. It’s like looking through two versions of the world. One regular and one magnified. It’s disconcerting…

January 25, 2021

@sleepydormouse Mine are no line bifocals and I can’t tell the difference because you use different views for distance than close up.

January 25, 2021

@mamaqueenie518 I have lined bifocals 🙁

January 25, 2021

I used up almost all my own essential oils making candles and potions for others at Christmas. I just ordered new bergamot-citrus and orange oils, since those are two of my favorites.

Just got my new glasses and I love them. I hadn’t realized how much better the new prescription would be!  I hope you like your new glasses, too.

kat
January 25, 2021

stay inside and warm! we have all rain here. guess you are getting g our storms

January 25, 2021

My daughter swears by the oils she uses.  I always know when she has the diffuser (I don’t know exactly what it’s called) on.  I don’t have a favorite one.  I need new glasses too.  I have tri-focals.  😎

January 25, 2021

Hi! I promised you that I’d send the recipe for Apple Cider Pork Chops. I’m sure you can eliminate the onions without affecting the taste too much. Here it is:

 

4 loin or rib pork chops, about 1/2-inch thick, trimmed of fat

2 tsp. olive oil

1 cup apple cider or juice

1 medium onion, sliced into rings

1 apple, cored and sliced

1 garlic clove, minced

1/4 tsp. dried thyme leaves

4 tsp. Dijon mustard

Heat the oil in a large skillet over medium-high heat. Add the pork chops and brown both sides quickly. Add apple juice, onion, garlic and thyme. Heat to boiling. Reduce heat to low and simmer, covered, a bout 12 to 15 minutes, or until fork-tender. Remove pork and onions and keep warm.

Add apple and simmer until barely tender. Remove to the dish with the chops. Heat remaining liquid to boiling, and cook until reduced by one-third. Whisk in mustard and cook until smooth. Pour over pork and apple. Makes four servings.

I usually serve this with wide egg noodles or roasted potatoes. It makes a yummy, low-calorie, warming dinner in the fall or winter!

January 25, 2021

@darkmadonna Thank you. I’ll make it next month.