Restaurant letdown

So last night I met up with my daughter and her boyfriend for dinner at the Outback Steakhouse. My son never made it. Anyway the service was great but the meal was not! It was not what I expected because usually the food is really good. I got a ribeye steak with a sweet potatoe, a salad and a side order of Aussie cheese fries as an appetizer. The cheese fries were ok but not nearly as good as the ones at Texas Roadhouse. Then when the steak came I was dumbfounded! It was so thin it looked almost like chopped steak and it was greasy. I eat my steak medium rare but it wasn’t even close to medium rare. Normally I’d send the steak back but my daughters boyfriend also got a ribeye and his was equally as thin. Ribeye’s are a more expensive steak too so I expect something really great. This was depressing! I ate my meal but decided I’m not going back there. The only reason I went there anyway was because my daughter likes their mac n cheese alot. She’s a vegetarian and only eats side dishes at steakhouses and Outback is her favorite place. I much more would have preferred Texas Roadhouse or even Longhorn. She said she hadn’t been to Longhorn in a long time and couldn’t remember if they had stuff she liked alot but that she didn’t care for Texas Roadhouse. It was still a nice time out with her and her boyfriend. We haven’t had much time together recently so it was nice to catch up.

Turns out her boyfriend quit his job recently because they weren’t treating him right and he should have been paid alot more than what he was making. So now he’s still going to school like he has been but now is driving for Grub hub and Doordash the other half of the day. He says he’s making almost as much money coming this as he was in his other job and he’s working less hours and not as hard. I think he’s going to stick to this until he finishes school and can get a better job. I always worry my daughter is going to end up taking care of him and I was upset at first that he quit his job. I don’t want him sponging of her. She makes real good money in her job. She could support them both if something happened and he couldn’t work. She wants to go back to school for her Master’s so she can advance to being a Psychologist I think or at least a therapist, idk… but she has to wait to do that until he is done with his schooling. 

On another topic…I left my mom’s this morning and came home and ate lunch. Now I’m only watching TV or reading until it’s time to do the dishes and make dinner. I’m making the One Pot Southwestern Chicken Alfredo Pasta tonight. I made it last month and it was really good!

That’s all for today. Starting tomorrow I have a busy week. Take care everyone!

Log in to write a note
July 19, 2020

I would have sent my steak back and asked for something not so thin….and then I wouldn’t have left a tip.

July 19, 2020

@jaythesmartone That’s rude not to leave a tip. It wasn’t the waitresses fault and she gave us great service! Plus it wasn’t just my steak… it was others too.

July 19, 2020

@mamaqueenie518

I guess us Canadians expect better food when we go out…and I bet if it went back you would get a free meal…and I have seen people leave a penny for a tip because the food was so crappy.  I have often left no tip because the service and food were so bad.

July 19, 2020

My last experience at Outback wasn’t good either. It was the night before I gave birth to our son, so it’s been a few years and maybe things have improved, but the service was very, very slow. I remember the food being good, though! Sorry yours was a disappointment.

I love Longhorn Steakhouse. It’s probably my favorite of the steakhouse chains.

I like Long Horn steak house the best. Glad you got to get out.

July 19, 2020

We don’t have a steak house where I live.  I wish we did.  When I lived in Ventura we used to go to Ted’s Sizzling Steaks – OMG!  So good!

July 19, 2020

I wish people who haven’t worked in restaurants would understand that waitresses are not chef’s. When I was a waitress I had no idea what chef’s cooked. They just ordered off the menu, and I provided. Don’t ever not tip a waiter, because the food wasn’t good. Shame on some people!

July 20, 2020

@dancingthrough I agree completely! I’d never not leave a tip unless of course the service itself was beyond awful. I was a waitress for a few years,  I know how it is.