Updates

I got a chance to talk to my son some more on what the visit with the recruiter went like. He says that he was misinformed on the GED program. Like I had told him after my research, he has to get the GED on his own. After that he can take the ASVAB test to see if he can get into the Navy. He took a practice ASVAB and failed it. I figured he would. He told me he wants to get his social security card (he lost his) and go get an ID then look into getting his GED. Whether he really does that or not is to be seen. I’d love it if he would but he hates schoolwork and studying. He refused to do it for school and dropped out. I have a hard time believing he will study now. Plus though he doesn’t believe it, he was diagnosed with ADHD a long time ago and he has a very hard time concentrating and absorbing the information he reads. He struggled through school clear up till he dropped out. He refused to be medicated for it though. He had tried several medications over the years when he was younger and they made him zombie like. Once he got to be a teenager he kept spitting out his pills and hiding them. I finally just quit trying to medicate him at that point. A’s much as I doubt he’ll go through with getting his GED I really hope he proves me wrong. 

The paella I made the other day came out ok I guess. The taste was great but the rice took alot longer to absorb the chicken broth which caused the shrimp and chicken to severely overcook. I won’t try and make it again. Once was enough! Last night I opted for something simple and just made hamburgers and a side dish. Tonight is tacos. Another easy meal. 

I found yesterday that since I took my son off of my food stamp case I no longer get the large amount of extra food stamps due to Covid. I was getting an extra $330 a month which helped ALOT! Now I’m only getting $110 extra. I’m grateful for anything extra but this month they already shorted my regular amount then to also have the extra cut really hurt. Luckily I’ve been saving money lately so I’ll get into my savings to add to what I did get for groceries this month. Hopefully next month they have it all straightened out and I get the right amount. I definitely can’t afford to get my son groceries anymore. That bothers me. I know he’s on his own now and is taking care of himself but I feel like I’m abandoning him by not taking care of him anymore. I’m sure I’ll adjust to this change soon, it just feels so sad to not be taking care of my kids anymore. They grew up too fast!

I’m adjusting to my new medication pretty good. However it doesn’t last the whole 12hrs. About 8hrs after I’ve taken my pill I start to get in pain again and have been dealing with feelings of withdrawl. The withdrawl symptoms are finally starting to go away now that the change has been about a week or so. I think the doctor needs to put me on 3 a day like I was on my morphine previous. Otherwise the milligram I’m on seems to be working good. I’ll talk to them when I go in next month. 

Nothing else going on here so I’m going to stop here. I hope everyone is doing really well! Take care and have a great day!

Log in to write a note
kat
February 26, 2021

Sounds like your son is heading in the right direction! So proud of him

February 27, 2021

I’m sure it will all work out okay for him.  😎