What an afternoon

I had an errand to run on a bad side of town today. I don’t mind going there with someone else but I don’t like going by myself. I luckily dropped off what I needed to and got out of there quickly. My son messaged me while I was out that he needed his clothes and wanted to see if I could pick up Burger King King for him. So I swung by the bar and dropped off the clothes and picked up the money for the food and went to get it. He bought me lunch as well. 

I’m home more washing my mom’s clothes. She sent me home with 2 loads since her washing machine still isn’t fixed. It’s not like I have alot to do so it’s no big deal. All I have to do today is the dishes and make dinner. I’m making Bacon Pineapple BBQ Chicken and a side dish, not sure what yet. I will NOT be putting the onions on the chicken though. I don’t ever eat onions. Any recipe calling for onions, I omit them. 

Today I’d the anniversary of my best friend Keri’s dad’s death. He was like a second dad to me. He use to take Keri and I camping often. He was alot of fun but he drank alot. He use to make us laugh by claiming there were purple polka dot elephants in the trees amongst other things. He use to take us out on his boat early in the morning when he set out to go fishing. We didn’t fish though, we’d wear our bikinis and lay out on the boat getting sun. Many times we’d fall asleep and end up burnt to a crisp. Her dad spoiled us and let us get away with so much. I loved him so much! Watching him die of Cancer was so hard. I’d hold in the tears while in front of him the best I could and then leave and cry for a long time. I miss him! Keri was a daddy’s girl 100% and she took his death harder than anyone. 

Oh and I looked into those things my son asked for for Christmas. Talk about expensive! I asked him if I could get him a different brand of weighted blanket as long as it was almost the same and he said that’s fine. He wants one that weighs around 30+ lbs. I found one on Amazon that is 30lbs and almost the same size so I’m gonna go with that one. It’s about $100-$150 cheaper than the Purple weighed blanket. The pillow though I will get,  it’s if I remember correctly $179. Ridiculous for a pillow but if that’s what he wants me to spend his Christmas money on then that’s what he’ll get. When I have money for Christmas, I try to spend about $400 on him. Last year I didn’t have that so I only didn’t a little over $100. He doesn’t care either way. He understands I don’t have alot of money to spend. But until the last 2yrs I always spent $300-$400. Once he is an adult and is making enough money to get most of what he wants that will change. I’ll only get him one or 2 things like I do my daughter. Until she graduated and lived on her own I use to spend the same on her. This will likely be the last year I can spend as much because of my income changing come Jan/ Feb. I love buying gifts for people but can’t always do that. I don’t care so much whether I get anything or not. I love Giving! I believe when you’re an adult then hou should never expect nor ask for gifts from anyone. If they choose on their own to get you something then that’s great but otherwise you’re an adult, you don’t need it. 

That’s all I got today. I hope everyone is having a great day. 

Log in to write a note
September 30, 2020

what if people ask you for a list of what you want?  The worst thing I hate is people buying me crap I don’t want or don’t use so everyone tells me what they want and I get it all no matter what.  Like this year my son was the box set of friends (the TV show)so that is what he is getting and hubby wants pillows and other stuff  and he is getting it all.

September 30, 2020

@jaythesmartone I simply tell people they don’t have to get me anything. If they choose to after that then so be it. 

I hate onions too. You are so nice doing your family’s wash. 😀