Work frustrations

The weekends at work suck now! The girl who use to work weekend mornings quit doing them which means my friend Lilly has to do them. I love her too death outside of work but I completely disagree how she works… the things she does and doesn’t do as well as the fact that she comes when she feels like it. Poor Marty gets stuck in bed all day when she has to be the one to get him up. Saturday she didn’t show up to work until 3:30pm and Sunday she showed at 2:30pm. It takes a skilled person such as herself 2hrs to get him completely up out of bed. So needless to say I get there and he’s still in bed. I basically just stand around and talk to him and her for the first hour or two of my shift. He hates being stuck in bed that long but he doesn’t talk to her about it. He’s afraid it’ll cause her to get angry and quit so he just deals with it.  Then to make matters worse she decided she had nothing better to do than to just hang out during my shift. I feel like I have to be on pounds and needles around her there and Marty can’t talk to me much because slot of what he talks to me about he doesn’t want her to know. And on top of all that she dirtys dishes and leaves them for me to wash. If I don’t do it, it doesn’t get done! Sunday I barely did anything because he wasn’t out of bed until almost 6 them 45 minutes later he accidentally shit himself so Lilly had to go undress him and wash him again and redress him and get him back in his chair. That took another hour. Then he was afraid to eat Nevada he said his bowels didn’t feel right she he was afraid of he ate that he’d shit himself again. So all I really did was get him his drinks and smokes 🚬 . Oh and if course I washed Lilly’s dishes. Then it was time to go home. 

We’re still trying to find someone to work the weekend mornings 🌄 and a few nights 🌙 a week. We set up 2 different interviews and 1 girl came, saw and decided she didn’t want the job. The other girl slept through her interview time, rescheduled and then just never showed nor responded when we tried to reach her. Lilly has a cousin that wants to do it but can’t start yet and doesn’t want a set schedule. She just wants to work when she feels like it and wants paid the day she works. She lives about a half hour away and wants $15/hr. Marty accepted that because he’s desperate. Then Lilly’s other cousin said she’d help out occasionally but she can’t do any lifting. The position includes lifting. That’s the whole reason I can’t really do it. So Lilly said she would come and lift him into bed then leave her cousin to do the rest of the job which she may not even be able to do because rolling him requires some strength and is hard on the back and hips also. I spoke up at that. I get only $8/hr which I’m fine with UNTIL you consider paying someone $15/hr to do less than what I do for my shift. SMH…

Oh and then there’s the Candy situation… she still hasn’t made any progress on coming here to live with Marty and care for him even after she borrowed $1000 from him. She messaged him the other day saying that she won’t be here till hopefully mid September and that she needs to borrow another $1000 because she had to use the other for living expenses instead of four a moving truck and storage like she was suppose to. He told this to me and Lilly and both of us told him to tell her no way. She says she’ll pay it back but how the hell does she plan to do that when she’s not bringing in much money at all? I told him again, she is using him for money and probably not ever moving here to take care of him. Lilly doesn’t know he already gave her $1000 or she’d be pissed! He was messaging her last night saying it’d be no problem to loan her that but he swears he’s not really going to do it. I told him I know better. He’ll do it and never see it again! He’s a people pleaser! He’ll never learn!

As for me, I’ve been a little nauseous yesterday and today after taking the prednisone for my foot. At first I didn’t know why I was feeling that way but today I figured it out. I did my weekly grocery shopping today and also did shopping for Marty. I have a lot to unload when I get to his house and it’s just drinks! He spends about $120/ biweekly on liquor for himself. That’s just crazy to me! My groceries consisted mostly of produce. Tonight for dinner I’m having a chicken wrap and side of cantaloupe chunks. This past week I used my air fryer a few times making dinners for me. They were pretty good. Would have been better if I didn’t have to reheat them later… oh well!

I guess that’s all for me today. This is longer than I planned as it is. Take care my friends!

Log in to write a note
August 16, 2021

I hope you get the relief you need. 🙂

August 17, 2021

Caregivers here make $15 an hour but that is if they do all the in and out of bed etc.  For all the extra you do I think you should be making $10 and hour but I understand you are okay with what you’re making.  It must be frustrating to have him not listen to you about the loan.  Keep up the wonderful job you do not only with Marty but with taking care of your dogs while also going to visit your mom and so many other things.  💜