Domestic Violence

What would you do if you happen upon screaming and hatred being spewed from your neighbors?

I walked out of a friend’s house just now and I heard hate coming from the first floor. It didn’t sound like there was anything physical. But I am also not in that room. I hope they are both safe. I wanted to call the police just in case. But when I looked into the window, blinds that were broken exposing half of the living room, I saw a little girl. She looked like she was four years old. She’s listening to all that hatred. Being traumatized, I’m sure. But would it traumatize her more for police to come there and take one of her parents away? She just sat there watching cartoons. I was so conflicted.

I sat listening to make sure it was only just words. Remembering my arguments with my partner and how after 16 years we still love and respect each other. I was there maybe three whole minutes. Not long, but long enough for me to decide that I don’t think there was physical violence right now. But definitely a social worker should come and check on the welfare of that little girl. I’ma talk to my tia tomorrow to see what I should do. She is a social worker out in California. I really just want to make sure all humans are okay and safe to express themselves.

Log in to write a note
December 11, 2023

This is a hard one. Has your friend said anything? If it is common?

December 11, 2023

@mrsdewees They haven’t heard them until then. It sucks that there are so many people that are literally getting there autonomy taken from them. That there are children out there learning that they may not have a voice too. I spoke to my tia and she believes it is right to call the cops immediately so that social workers have a reason to go and check on them.

December 12, 2023

@mandeacero It is just such a hard place to be because the system is broken and families are broken. You already did an amazing job by asking for second opinions and reaching out to a professional, though. So the decision you make will be one you can trust!