Entrepreneurship

 I have a friend who owns a Portland corporate video company, and he does well for himself.  We talk every other week or so, and I ask him how business is going.  He’s young and has room to grow, but there is room for his business in that market.  After I finish talking to him, I always get the bug for entrepreneurship.  He always tells me that it’s not as hard as you would think.  Sure, there is some risk, but you just take everything one step at a time.  Most people, like me, are too afraid to take that first step and it keeps us living  under the yoke of the corporate business world.  Bondage.  How I would love to be free!

There are so many opportunities with the internet today.  Start ups are less expensive and less risky than businesses in the past.  When I look around on the internet, there is somebody selling nearly everything.  One guy sells nursing scrubs – Cherokee, Iguana, Koi and all the top brands.  Another person sells personalized jewelry to the military.  Marines go crazy for this kind of stuff.  There is literally a niche for just about every product on the face of the earth, and if you know how to market your site, you can make money.  Even if you don’t have a product, you can sell information, which is even better because the margins are basically endless.  Every time I think about ecommerce, my juices get flowing.  I read this site a lot.  One of these days, I need to take the next step.  One of these days, I need to stop saying one of these days. 

Log in to write a note