Another weekend gone by

Friday – H was working from home. I left work a little early so that we could have a little bit of us time before the kids go home. Well worth it! Later we took S to meet up with his scout troop for an overnight trip to an indoor rock climbing place. I nudged him along to sign up for this activity as he was not convinced that it would be fun. He has a slight fear of heights so I thought this would be good for him. It was indeed. He had a fabulous time. He’s so strong – so it is an activity he is well suited for. After dropping him off H and I got a few groceries then stopped at a micro-brew for a drink. Cute little hole-in-the-wall.  Went home and spent the rest of the eve with D. She and I did a little beauty mask.  We looked like zombies. It was fun and funny. H made dinner. We watched a movie that we rented for D. Very cute. She enjoyed having us all to herself. I went for a brisk walk on Sat am. It was nice out at the time. S got home about midmorning. D got a ride to writing class. I did some errands until pick up time. Got a b-day gift for a friend of S. Got an engagement gift for niece. I picked up D and her classmate at 2, dropped classmate home then home to our house in time to pick up the rest of the fam, pick up S’s friend and then delivery the 2 of them to a birthday sleepover. After that we headed out of town to visit H’s family for an engagement dinner for niece and fiancée. OMG that was the busiest Saturday. I’m tired just writing about it. Sunday was a lot of putzing around the house. Doing little things.  S got home about 10:30. H had to go for a long training run. D and I went out to ski for a few hours. We got to the hill only to find out I left my boots at home. So D did 4 runs by herself. I’m so glad she’s got that confidence. She rode the lift with people she didn’t know and made conversation with them. She is a bit socially awkward but she is comfortable speaking with adults. After skiing we went to the library for a hot cocoa and some new books. Love those little moments with her. S slept for a good 2 hours when he got home. No sleep 2 nights in a row will do that to a young body. Daylight savings time threw the kids for a loop. They asked why we were eating dinner so early. It wasn’t.  It just felt that way. Watched a movie after dinner. We sent the kids up after the movie. S asked if I was coming up. He calls me up every night. I said I would be but he should get in bed. A few min later D comes down and quietly tells me that S needs me. This was different. I go up there and he is in D’s room. Crying. We went to his room and talked. In a nutshell he was just purely exhausted. He said he was crying because he’s been swearing lately and he felt really bad about it. OMG. That was it. I really thought there would be more to the story and I probed, but no. That was it. I said it was ok. It’s not polite and I would rather he does not swear, but it happens.  We move on. He said he felt better. But he still wouldn’t calm down completely. He said he didn’t want to tell H bec H would get mad at him. I told him that was not true. A while later he asked if he should tell him. I said yes. He did and no H did not get mad but was as supporting and loving as he always is. After that S continued to calm down a little more and eventually fell asleep. He’s such a good boy. I went in to give D a little good-night cuddle. I thanked her for taking care of Liam. She said she also said a little prayer for him. That filled me with so much joy. My kids. Loving and caring for each other. Can’t ask for better than that.

Log in to write a note