Say what?

It’s a damn good thing I read my own words about “growing in love” with H over the years. Because I am very angry and disappointed at the moment. (Let me stop here for a second and say that this entry contains the first-world-problem whining of a middle aged, middle class woman). A few months ago I was very touched that H suggested we do something to celebrate our 20 years together this year. But here we are down to the wire and not doing a damn thing. I did some research on Europe. He did some research on Europe. I arranged for the kids to be taken care of – which is the biggest obstacle. Yesterday he says to me – how about instead of Europe we go to San Diego and rent a car and drive up the coast? I just gave him a blank look and said “sure”.  In my head I am saying ‘are you fucking kidding me’? I eventually said no that is not what I want to do. I can’t even continue to write about this. There is such a complex web of emotions involved. It is situations like this that I realize how sorely we are in need of counseling. We just don’t communicate effectively. We just don’t.

Log in to write a note
July 20, 2018

Men…you can’t live with them and you can’t live without them. Maybe he just doesn’t want to spend the money?

July 20, 2018

That’s too bad that you didn’t end up doing something special, communication is so important when trying to get these things done.