On Writing and Selling Memoir

Because that’s what I do.  Unless you write Eat, Pray, Love , writing memoir is unlikely to make you a living.  Also, traditional marketing isn’t going to get you there – there meaning many sales and interviews on NPR or whatever your media choice is.

What sells memoir is word of mouth.  I now quote

“… Fiction, poetry, and memoirs are word-of-mouth driven.  They sell because friends recommend them to each other. …  Publicity can help you get the word-of-mouth going for these kinds of books, but it’s mostly a means to an end.   

The best way to generate word-of-mouth: write a damn fine book”  (The Savvy Author’s Guide to Book Marketing)

How to write a “damn fine book?”  Learn your craft.  Read, read, read (the best in your genre) then write.  Do that again and again.

Join a good writers group.  Good writers groups discuss characters, flow, hooks and sense of place. They tell you what is working and not working.

They do NOT spend ten minutes discussing whether or not you should have used a colon vs a semi-colon   That is why you have the Chicago Book of Style.

Learn your craft. Invoke all the senses.  Give your story the writing it deserves.

Treat it like a job, a vocation.  Set aside an inviolate time to write/read, the same time every day.  Inviolate.  If you miss work, you’re fired.  That kind of inviolate.

That’s what I’ve learned so far.  Now to live it.

 

First create the schedule. The nothing will interfere schedule.   That “same time every day” was what had stopped me before.  Between exercise classes, church commitments,  and service clubs, I didn’t have the same time available every day.  Then I realized I could treat it like a part time job with a varied schedule.  As if I worked at Lowe’s.  Tuesdays I open.  Wednesdays I close.  Still a set schedule just not the same time every day.  I’m doing this.

I posted my work schedule on the door where both Parker and I can see it.

“I’ll tell people, doctors making appointments, auto service people, I can’t do it then.  I have to work.  This is it.  This comes first.”

“This is when I’m not to talk to you?”

“Right.”

Step 1.  Check

 

 

Log in to write a note
February 26, 2018

I’m thrilled to know a writer and I bet you are a very good writer too. We only get a glimpse of your talent here on Open Diary I am sure. Making scheduled time to read and write sounds like a big step in the right direction. You are well on your way! Now, hush Parker. Smiles.

February 26, 2018

@wildrose_2 If you write, and you do, then you’re a writer!

February 26, 2018

Like everything else in this world, the most talented put in the time and effort needed to make it look easy, and then the rest of us untalented people think, “I could do that!”

Um, no. No I can’t. 😉

February 26, 2018

You are absolutely right, but I would add one point. I believe you have to bring an audience to your publisher. I have seen many other writers start a blog, share bits and pieces of chapters and stories on their blog, and regularly post an email that will get the potential readers attention. I follow one writer who puts out a taste of what he is writing every Sunday evening. I get his email at the same time every week and look forward to it. Last I heard, he had over 100,000 people regularly communicating with him through his blog website. When he releases a book, many on his email list, including me, buy it. He has fun interacting with his readers before the book is finished and some of the final version is strengthened by the interest in various parts of the manuscript.

February 26, 2018

@altair That’s good to know. What is his genre? I have a blog and a small, starter email list of a couple hundred. Part of my “work” will be posting regularly.

February 26, 2018

Have you seen the video about the gap by Ira Glass? It seems to fit here so well.

https://vimeo.com/85040589

February 27, 2018

@bambamgotchatwice thank you. I hadn’t seen it. And I needed it. It almost brought tears. And I’m not a teary person.