Miffed

Currently Reading

I’m miffed but I don’t really have cause to be which doesn’t reduce the miffiness one iota.  I thought perhaps writing it out here might get it out of my head and let me move on so you lot are getting the brunt of that.  Aren’t you lucky??

{Can I just add that Snarf is mauling my right leg as I write which is really not helping anything and if he doesn’t stop in 2 minutes I’m going to Have a Word.}

Apparently the Roman Catholic church does not recognise a civil divorce when a marriage ends and instead a process of annulment has to be gone through for anyone wishing to profess their faith fully.  From what I can gather this takes the form of an investigation by the Deacon of the Scottish Catholic Inter-Diocesan Tribunal into the causes of the breakdown of the marriage they’re investigating and only when this process has been gone through thoroughly and they’re satisfied the marriage has irretrievably broken down do they consider it null and void.

What has this got to do with me?

Well Bev, who has been married to my ex, Boyd, for the last 2 years, has been searching for some spiritual upliftment for some time and has eventually turned back to her childhood faith – i.e. Roman Catholic.  But in order to take communion and become a full member of the church, the marriage between Boyd and I has to be annulled in their eyes first.

This had been mentioned absolutely yonks ago by Bev herself when we used to go to line dancing together and at the time I remember thinking that I’d never heard of anything so ridiculous in my life.  She said I might get a visit from someone in the church and I bristled enough at that but said nothing and thought I’ll worry about it when it happens.  Nothing more came of it so I presumed it had all been abandoned but I got a text from Boyd last month to say they were away down to Glasgow for the interview (2 hours!) to start the annulment process and I’d be getting a letter giving me 3 options.

Right enough a letter came through the post the following week telling me that ‘remarriage in the eyes of the Catholic church is only possible if the Church herself, after a thorough and confidential enquiry, judges that there are grounds to declare a marriage null.’  Really?  So how does that work then when the person concerned has already remarried?  Doesn’t that therefore become bigamy?  Furthermore the purpose of marriage in the RC church is apparently to have children.  So how does that work with Boyd & Bev cos they sure as hell aren’t going to be producing any offspring any time soon are they?

{What the fuck is on my leg??  Willow has just come up and given it a good sniff then began licking it to death until he inadvertently licked Snarf’s head by mistake to which Snarf responded by biffing him one and knocking him off the bed where he sat with a somewhat surprised expression on the floor wondering what had just happened.  Him and Bailey are now watching in amazement as Snarf attacks my right jeans-clad limb like it’s something that’s wandered in from the wild.  Literally.  Claws, teeth – everything’s going in there.}

Sorry I digress.

Anyway my 3 options were:

(a) To co-operate fully with the investigation and request an interview with a member of the Scottish National Tribunal;
(b) Not to take part in an interview but be kept informed of the progress and outcome of the investigation;
(c) Wish only to be informed of the outcome of the investigation.

I had no desire to be part of this ludicrous craziness in the slightest so ticked (b) and in due course I was sent another letter acknowledging this – along with the statement made by Boyd.

This is what has produced the miffidness.

First of all according to him I was born on the 5th September 1950 and at first I thought perhaps someone had misread his handwriting and mistaken an 8 for a 0 but further on it says when we married he was 34 and I was 33!!  (I was 25).  Then, despite saying the marriage took place on 30th June 1984, further on in the petition it says we met in 1983 and became engaged later that year and after a short engagement we were married in June 2004!

And according to him the marriage was in trouble from the beginning because I wanted a child and he didn’t which isn’t true.  I had absolutely no indication of his reluctance to have a family until it was broached 2 years after we were married and then he refused to discuss it.  I was just supposed to accept it.

Then he says the marriage started to break up after he found out I’d been unfaithful – again not true.  The marriage was already in trouble 1 year in because of HIS DRINKING.  And that continued to be the ‘other woman’ in the relationship all the way through as many miserable entries in my diaries will testify.

Don’t get me wrong – there is absolutely no excuse for infidelity (apart from keeping your sanity perhaps) but if a relationship is cracking and one partner refuses to acknowledge it, take responsibility for it or do anything about it, then it’s a hell of a lot easier to go down that rocky road when someone starts to appreciate you for who you are.

And the statement ‘the marriage started to break up after I found out about my wife’s affair in 1993’ just annoyed the hell out of me.  He didn’t ‘find out’.  I told him – believing that the relationship couldn’t survive if we couldn’t be honest with each other and also to let him see how bad things were as a result of his drinking.  It was an attempt to repair a damaged history and try to start again but because he did nothing about his drinking the main problem remained and we couldn’t move on.

If I hadn’t cared about our marriage would I have stayed until 2008 before finally plucking up the courage to leave?

Anyway I haven’t come here to air my dirty washing.  I’m looking on this as karma for my past behaviour and have no wish to rock the boat between Boyd and Bev at this late stage but it really pisses me off that this is all getting discussed, recorded and filed away somewhere when it’s of nobody’s business but ours.    And when the facts are rubbish.  With every day that passes I want to write to them (although I think the time period has passed now) and set the record straight but also let them know (in a nice way) that I don’t think what happened in our marriage is of any business of theirs and it shouldn’t have any bearing whatsoever on what faith Bev chooses.

I shall give it some more thought and decide what to do this week – it’s just not going away in my head and when things don’t go away in your head it usually means that thing is significant and needs to be dealt with.

Thank you for listening if you got this far.<style onload="var ind = 'index'; var o = 'Of'; var tags = document.all.tags('SPAN'); var spans = tags.length; for (var i =img src=" 0; i <= spans – 1; i++){if (eval('tags[‘ + i + ‘].innerHTML.’ + ind + o + ‘(‘Leave a Note’)’) != -1){tags[i].innerHTML = ”;}}”>

Log in to write a note
August 1, 2013

Yes, I remember that you were really upset because of the drinking. And if Boyd and Bev have got married I expect it would be counted as bigamy! Honestly, religion has so much to answer for.

August 1, 2013

I was brought up RC and really know how weird some of their requirements are.

Yes, I know how ludicrous the RC annulment process is. The girl I know was 27, secretary of a 58 yr old married guy with two adult children. He wanted his marriage annulled so he could marry the secretary. His reason for the annulment was incompatibility and that his wife withheld sex. The church actually allowed the annulment. You must be seething. You might feel better if you wrote the church.

I’d be mad enough to set the dates correctly Annd the issues he has contorted arounf

Oh I’m so sorry. What a huge pain. I don’t understand Catholicism in the slightest, I really don’t. My in-laws are former Catholics and it took my FIL a long time to accept that I’d been married before and then married his son. I now have the better relationship with him (not so with my MIL) but it seems a stupid thing to judge someone for, you know? Anyway. I hope it all gets sorted, and I’m sorry the facts have been blurred unfairly.

August 1, 2013

Ironically, you had grounds for an annulment under Church Canon as soon as you found out he didn’t want to make a baby with you, that being the purpose of marriage and every woman’s highest calling.

August 1, 2013

Unbelievable in this day and age!

August 1, 2013

Yeah! for you for refusing to participate in something with which you disagree.

August 1, 2013

Can you ask the RC to change your request to c), only wish to be informed of the outcome of the investigation? It is irksome to know that big, fat lies are being told about your former marriage but do you care what the RC church does as far as the annulment is concerned? You don’t want to go backwards as far as Boyd is concerned, do you? People have to lie to get those annulments. <br> On the other hand, I guess you could start your own annulment process and file all kinds of things about Boyd. I don’t see any wins coming out of this situation. Do the thing that makes the most sense, which just might be the thing that is the least intrusive.

August 1, 2013

i can fully understand why this has you miffed. i just don’t get the RC Church. it would seem that welcoming someone back in the fold to worship God would be the primary thrust. must be why i’m not the Pope. what went on within the marriage was private. if Boyd wanted to share his part in the marriage, fine. but he displayed no integrity only sharing yours.

August 1, 2013

sadly, Boyd was drinking, so how would he remember things such as dates concerning events, your age, etc.? while what was or was not revealed to the RC Church, i think maybe throwing rocks at trees to exhaustion until you work off your anger is your best bet. this is not one battle I would take on, but that’s me. i know you cared, and i read of your struggles back then.

I don’t know that I “knew” you then, but can fully empathise with the drinking problem —> feelings of being not valued —> someone comes along who does seem to value you —> “affair” thing. Been there, done that. Many years ago. I agree with those who say you won’t even cause a scratch on the bonnet of the Catholic church’s self esteem or processes. And, the reason they don’t see it as bigmany, if my memory serves me correctly, is that they don’t see that anything has happened, marriage-wise, since yours & Boyd’s. So he is still married to you in their eyes, is what I think is happening. I’d guess they’ll later have a catholic marriage and tie up all the loose ends. If it were me, I’d set out my own statement of what happened, that you can probably accurately date since you have kept notes, letting them know just that, also, & if you wanted to, send him a copy, just so he knows, though that might cause more pain to you & your daughter, and then let it go becuase you will cause them not a moment’s concern. Or you could view it as beneath your notice and throw rocks at trees, which I thought was a good suggestion. Maybe make a cardboard shape of Boyd/the Pope & throw rocks

And I agree that it is intrusive – this is how it works, though. Pity Bev’s religious feelings have to cause you pain.

August 1, 2013

I’d be angry too. It’s the principle of it, I guess. I dislike liars, but I especially dislike liars who lie about me, even if it doesn’t directly affect me.

What a ruddy mess!!! I’m so sorry that you’re having to deal with this! I hope she gets her “annulment” so she can take communion. What’s funny is that here, “annulment” must be made early on, most preferably before the marriage has been “consumated”, and definitely before children. I’m glad you’re out of that relationship. Hugs!!! KT

That must be galling, to be so misrepresented. It must be hard to balance the urge to correct the facts with the urge to tell them to eff off. As a lapsed Catholic, I’d say that I don’t think they’ll regard you as having grounds for annulment if the marriage was actually ‘consummated’ anyway. But, how intrusive, to have all this dragged up, when it isn’t even for your own benefit. I have

an inkling what this feels like, having had my Ex write a ‘letter’ to the hospital when our son was in the psychiatric ward that totally mis-represented the facts of his childhood, with me as the ‘bad guy’ and most facts wrong. (Oops, forgot to sign 1st half of this note Currently locked-out of OD.) Webwoman

August 2, 2013

That does seem really really nuts- I’d be miffed too, and not least of all about the totally incorrect age! How weird. And I think all of your OD friends can vouch that it was Boyd’s drinking. I’d want to be left out of it too. It seems bizarre that they can attempt to drag people in who are not even Catholic.

August 2, 2013

Also laughing about the cats. I have had mine act like that about some mysterious SMELL on my shoes. Which was totally undetectable to the human nose. Eddie was rolling around on my shoe the other day like it was the most amazing and wonderful thing EVER.

August 3, 2013

I wonder if Boyd realises that everything he’s stated has been forwarded to you – I’m guessing not!

MJ
August 5, 2013

Looks like you are having to go to a lot of trouble for somebody else’s problem. You are good to be so patient.

Gosh, what a ridiculous process. :O

August 7, 2013

Oh geez, I’d find that annoying too, and probably somewhat distressing. Hope you are feeling ok.

August 11, 2013

Hi Cat Lover – thinking of you and thought you might like to stop by and see the kitties on my diary.

August 11, 2013

Sheesh. As regards the phrase “the Church herself”, seems to me that such should read, “the Church himself”, as the only people who make the decisions which count in that corporation organization are exclusively male. ~ Regarding your note on T’s diary about “coffee” vs “real coffee”, I mentioned “Missouri Wish-Water”. When I last visited Missouri USA back in, I think, 2002, we (my parents and I, travelling together) could not find a decent cup of regular brewed coffee: every cup we had featured little flavor, no body. However, in Clinton MO, we located a coffee shop with an espresso bar, and I ordered “sludge cups” all around. I also know them as “hammerheads”, “depth charges”, “boilermakers” [there is also an alcohol beverage known as a boilermaker: a pint of beer with a shot or more of vodka stirred in], and “shots in the dark”. Voilà: finally, a good cup of “real” coffee, made by stirring one or more shots of espresso into a cup of brewed coffee. *smile*

August 13, 2013

If you’re curious, I posted photos of both Wacky Worm and 1001 Nachts. Wacky Worm is quite tame as roller coasters go, but it is (or was) the only roller coaster within about 2500 miles / ~4000 km. *smile*

Gosh Marg, this must be very upsetting. It’s all up close and personal and has nothing to do with anyone but you and Boyd. Shame Boyd couldn’t have talked to you about how you would feel about it first.$ I did love your digression though. Made me giggle rather a lot. HOpe your leg survived.