February 14 2018

Last night I read an entry by my son-in-law, where he told my daughter (both on OD) how he loved her…..and how their life has changed since they had children. He mentioned that she spent part of the evening stuffing 60 little pouches w/Valentine things for both of the kids to take to school for their friends. It struck a chord in me because it reminded me of a memory I had forgotten. I can remember sitting in the evening, a hundred years ago, stuffing a million brand new bean bags for one of the Carnival games at her school. I was the Games Chairman that year for the fundraiser. I planned it so I could watch the Academy Awards that night while I stuffed. Those were the days when I enjoyed watching the Red Carpet, the clothes, the people. It was also a time where I knew a lot of the movies in the running. Those days are gone now……it’s become too political for me, and I rarely see any movies…..mostly because they don’t interest me. And I can honestly say, I probably wouldn’t even understand most of the movies now.

So I’m home now, waiting for my husband to return. He teaches (volunteers) 4 times a week at the local YMCA, teaching karate. He called earlier, saying some of his Green Belts are worried about the upcoming promotion and requested extra time from him. We usually try and spend some time together in the evening, watching tv, playing cards, talking……just whatever, so we’re together. We’ve been married 30 years now and it would be so easy to just go about life, next to each other without a lot of interaction.

I guess marriage and parenthood are not that different. It’s making sure the other in the relationship know that they are so important to you…….and spending time together shows it in the best way possible.

Log in to write a note
February 15, 2018

That was one of the sweetest things I have ever read last night!!

February 20, 2018

Aloha…

Your last sentence: Perfect…!