Sunday Evening

I would love to say that I haven’t written for so long because I’m so busy.                                                                                                                                                 The truth is I’m putting other things on the top of my To Do List and the rest of the time I’m being lazy. And I’m perfectly fine with that.

I’m writing this on Word now since I’ve had no Internet service or WiFi all day. It makes me realize how dependent I have become with all the wonderful things that can be done/seen online. I really love reading the news on various sites, reading/replying to email, all the while listening to soft music. Probably the only time I don’t have music on is when I’m watching tv shows/movies online.  So right now I have talk radio on. It’s been a long, long time since I listened to talk radio. Thank goodness the program on right now is not political but rather promoting a group of singers who are lovely to listen to.

I think we’ve found a good diagnosis and solution to my husband’s knee, hip, back pain (it progressed to different parts). Apparently one of his vertebrae is pinching a main nerve because there’s not enough space for it. One doctor suggested serious surgery, and taking about 3 months before completely recovery.  I get nervous thinking about surgery for anyone right next to the spinal cord.  Then he saw another, well-known doctor, also recommended.  He suggests a microscopic procedure of 45 minutes and no downtime…. Which sounds a lot better to me. Even if he might still need the other surgery someday in the future.

I get the grandkids every Tuesday and Friday. It’s only about an hour and half for the granddaughter in the morning before we take her to Pre-K. The boy is already in school early. Then we pick them both up from school and usually take them to our house until 5 or so. I don’t NEED to babysit. I just need to spend time with my grandkids. I do love babies but give me little kids any day over a baby.  Toddler-hood is the best when they are still kinda pudgy but starting to have conversations and opinions. Mine are 6 and 4, soon to be 7 and 5. I just really adore listening to them, watching them grow and mature. I also like to reassure their parents that they’re doing a good job of raising them. Like all kids, they are so much better behaved with us than at home. We rarely have any problems with them so it’s a win-win situation for all of us.

Last weekend, we invited all of them to our house for a BBQ…….and even suggested they drop the kids off a couple hours before they come for dinner. My daughter and son-in-law thought we were crazy wanting energetic little monsters while preparing a big dinner. But the truth is that they love helping us do anything and everything.  The 6 yr old boy helped Grandpa get the BBQ ready, helped him cook (sorta) and the 4 yr old girl helped me make their favorite chicken tenders. In no time at all, she was doing the prep work for me: dipping the chicken in flour, then in the eggs and then in the panko crumbs like a pro. I think this is what grandparents are for. We’ve learned what kids are capable of at different ages but when you’re a parent, you’re in such a highly protective mode all the time. And often, it’s just easier and quicker to just do it yourself. I know I did that a lot because as a parent, you’re always busy.

I guess I’m just having such a great time being with them. And no matter how old I get, or how tired I am, or how glad I am that the kids were fully raised…….I still get Empty Arm Syndrome.  And I was cured as soon as the first grandchild was handed to me. It doesn’t get any better than loving, holding, hugging your sweet little kids.

 

Log in to write a note
May 6, 2018

I totally agree, grands and greats are the best!