Speaking Pidgin…

Happy Aloha Friday…!
Pidgin:
Aloha…
When I first visited the islands in the early 60s… there was a language spoken that I didn’t quite understand… pidgin… spoken by locals… and rarely understood by a haole like myself…
So here goes a small sample of what I encountered:
‘Ass why i wen put ‘um togeddah you know: so you guys could have good fun too! But one noddah ting: we get special feeling about pidgin. ‘Cause pidgin is special. Local people, dey get togeddah fo’ party, wedding, baby luau, whatevahs, dey gotta talk story, yeah? An’ how you can talk story wid’out pidgin? Cannot! Pidgin someting from da heart!
An’ you know, we no like insult any particular group of people in da islands — we jus’ like kid everybody. We love Hawai’i, an’ we love pidgin, an’ dass da main ting we trying fo’ say. So kick back, bruddahs, an’ relax wit’
I lived on the island of Maui for about 12 years… my three daughter’s learned pidgin so they could communicate in school and with their (local) friends… I learned it and to this day… some of it creeps back into my “talk-story” from time to time…
Aloha oe… Jim
Log in to write a note
February 22, 2021

Been thinking about you a lot lately because I’ve been binge watching Hawaii Five-0. There’s a guy on there who speaks like that.

March 31, 2021

@shelyn I rarely use pidgin living where I do… but from time to time a word or phrase slips into my talking story… (smiles)

March 31, 2021

Glad to find you still writing here. Hello from ‘up the coast.’

March 31, 2021

@jeanne Aloha nui loa… Mahalo for your note to me…

March 31, 2021

Aloha. My husband and I spent 10 days in Hawaii in 2019. 3 days on the Big Island and 7 on Maui. It was non stop wonder and adventure.  Hawaii, for sure, stole a piece of my heart. Ever since I heard Pidgin I was fascinated by it and all the cultures that lended themselves.

March 31, 2021

@celestialflutter Aloha nui loa… Mahalo for your note to me…!

April 25, 2021

Well, I understood everything you said, but I doubt I could produce any of it.  That’s kind of the same as Cajun, it’s English, BUT…….

July 17, 2021

@dlk082244 After a while (living on the island) it becomes very comfortable to talk that way…

May 16, 2021

Do you ever watch Da Daily Pidgin Show, with Andy Bumatai on You Tube?

May 16, 2021

Carol and I trying get togedda wit GhostDancer fo gindz, but she no mo cah, so.  Good places neah where she live get choke food.

 

May 20, 2021

We had lunch with GhostDancer yesterday.  Your name was mentioned.

 

July 17, 2021

@spoo Mahalo for sharing… hope you are doing no ka oi…