And now back to work…

So my week long vacation that I mentioned in this post turned into a staycation (for reasons mentioned in that post as well). It was really great taking a week off. I don’t think I’ve taken this much time off at one time in quite a while. At least, I don’t think I’ve taken a week off and stayed home. Despite having to cancel our vacation (again, see post I linked above), it really was great having the time to do all the things that needed to get done or that I wanted to get done. Just to name a few things:

  • I finally mounted a TV in my basement that I’ve been meaning to do (with my dad’s help).
  • We took a family day trip to New York City to show my 3-year-old daughter, Emily, the city during the holiday season.
  • We did another family trip to a fun little Christmas store that is basically magical with all the decorations. My wife and I have been exchanging ornaments from that store for years. Now we like to share the experience as a family.
  • Another family event was our town’s fair in the square (see feature photo) with a tree lighting, Santa, and all the local businesses. Emily loved it.
  • I finally used that gift certificate for a massage that I received 2 Christmas’s ago.
  • I put up the Christmas lights and did not fall off the roof (this is always a concern of mine).

I also did a lot of work on Open Diary, which I’m sure made @thediarymaster quite happy. 😀

Here are some things I almost did…

I almost when on a road trip to Nashville to attend a big WordPress conference, but had family plans already, which I prefer. Though a spontaneous 14-hour road trip also sounded kind of cool.

I thought of going to LA this week for work, but my wife already had a conference of her own to attend. So I’m on full-time daddy-duty instead. Sunny weather would have been nice… (I’m in New Jersey).

Okay, that’s it for now.

Log in to write a note
December 4, 2017

Hi Mkie, Where is DM? He and his OD have disappeared??? I can’t find him. and all his notes.

December 4, 2017

@Butterfly4Him I just fixed a weird bug. Still seeing this issue?

December 5, 2017

Except you didn’t really take the WHOLE week off 🤓

December 5, 2017

I don’t know how to vacation…

December 5, 2017

Ah, what I wouldn’t do for a week off… I get 6 days at Christmas so I’m looking forward to that.

December 5, 2017

Yeah, definitely need to recharge every now and again. Glad you are getting some time off too! Enjoy it! 😀

December 5, 2017

I love a good town fair! Good pic

December 6, 2017

Thanks! Yeah, we had a lot of fun 😀