Last day of solo parenthood

I’ve been a solo parent for the past 3 days, which I must admit has been pretty challenging with a 3-year-old. My wife went to a conference on Wednesday, so I’ve been doing all the things. Well, that’s not true. My parents took her in the afternoons so I could work (which I’m very thankful for, let me tell you).

Actually, what was most challenging was the mornings and getting her ready for school. Between the cats and all their medications (our cats aren’t normal, they are more difficult and demanding than my toddler, I swear), getting a child ready that doesn’t want to eat breakfast, showering, and all the other things, it’s amazing I got her to school on time. Usually, my wife and I divide a conquer everything in the morning and it’s still a challenge then.

Also, my daughter always wants to wear a dress because she says she’s a princess (I don’t know where she gets this). If I don’t have a clean dress for her, she goes nots. If it’s a longer shirt which I say is a dress to move things along, she yells “That’s not a dress!” FML.

Well, my wife will be home in a few hours. Emily misses her tremendously and has been constantly asking me when she will be home. My daughter constantly reminds me that she likes mommy and not me, because she apparently can’t like us both.

Also, that photo is of Chester (aka “Baby”) the cheetah/tiger/cat-thing. Emily’s favorite doll. We accidentally left him at my parents’ house, so my father sent Emily this photo of him being entertained by their big bear.

😰😴

Log in to write a note
December 8, 2017

You really do need both components of the couple to tag-team mornings!! :*

December 8, 2017

HAHA!! Cant like you both. Thats priceless. But then again, she is a princess. 💕

December 9, 2017

Only a suggestions, but journal as much of this precociousness as you can. My fondest memories of my no-longer-small children can be found in these pages, things that I’d forgotten.

December 9, 2017

Thanks, that is great advice!