What is an accomplishment you are particularly proud of?

Like @thediarymaster I am also an Eagle Scout, which I am quite proud of.

Another accomplishment though is my career change. When I graduated college, I had a degree in Communications and a minor in Literature. With that in hand, I sought out a career in advertising as a copywriter. I did that job for almost 8 years. During that time I dabbled in web development. I had a couple clients that I built very simple, static web sites for. It was nice side money along with my full time job.

At one point in in 2006, I decided I wanted to do web development full time. I came to this realization when I was working on someone’s site at 2am not ever realizing how much time had passed. I thought about how many times I counted down the minutes at my full time job until I could leave. Then I said to myself. You should work at a job that you love and where you don’t feel the need to look at the clock.

There was a lot I needed to learn to make this change. I didn’t feel good enough to do web development full time. So I looked for online courses I could take. Between 2006 and 2008 I took 19 courses. Everything from CSS… to JavaScript… to ASP.net… PHP/MySQL… SEO… XML… and various other acronyms… Each course required a text book or 2, homework, projects, quizzes, and a message board for questions you can ask classmates and the instructor. At the end of 2008 I finally felt ready and confident to start looking for a new job in this new career.

In 2009 I took the leap. I left my cushy NJ job of almost 8 years for a brand new job in New York City, a tech startup called KickApps. I applied everything I learned there, and then learned a ton more! I am happy to say I am still in this career, now as a Senior Software Engineer for a large media company. I am happy as hell that I worked hard and made that change. It was probably the best decision I ever made.

Log in to write a note
January 2, 2018

That is awesome, I’m glad you found a job you absolutely love

January 2, 2018

Nice to meet you, Mike. You seem to know so much things about… codes and… web… for me it’s just magic xD

January 2, 2018

Not magic, you just constantly build on what you know and understand 😀

January 2, 2018

I’m glad that you chose that career!

January 2, 2018

What an amazing career to choose. And you should be proud of it because its not easy to learn it by yourself. Several years ago, I decided I wanted to learn how to build a site. I started off easy and did those sites witth programs that you could purchase and do a “what you see is what you get” site. But I wanted more. I ended up teaching myself HTML and other basic things that got me a bit better but I always wanted to learn more especially with the whole way of building and the code changing. One day I will do it, as soon as I figure out the best places to go to do on -line courses at my own pace.

January 2, 2018

I used https://www.lynda.com/ to start learning Swift development a couple years back. It was pretty good and a very at-your-own pace way of learning.

January 2, 2018

This is very commendable!! I am glad you did this and that you also love doing it!! Thanks for all your help on here!!

January 2, 2018

You bet! Glad to be working on such a great project with great people!

January 2, 2018

Aloha…

Fun reading this entry as my skill with a computer is knowing how to turn it on… and off… (smiles)

January 2, 2018

Most things are fixed by turning it off and on again! 😂

January 2, 2018

First and foremost congratulations on the Eagle Scout, that is a rare accomplishment indeed. Quite the honor. Re the rest, a leap is a hell of a thing isn’t it? I’m glad that yours worked out well for you.

January 2, 2018

Congratulations! I am delighted for you.

January 2, 2018

Woo! That’s awesome…A great accomplishment indeed